Search
Deals
Cruises
Get Help
Call Us

Riu Vallarta

Mexico - Riviera Nayarit

Our Rating
1-800-880-2177
4 Nights with Air from $749 All-Inclusive
Info Customer Reviews Questions & Answers
Customer Rating
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
3.8
Dining Options
 
3.3
Room Comfort
 
3.2
3.8 out of 5
"We traveled with another couple to the RIU Vallarta in April of 2011. I'll sum it up the best I can: Front desk staff - great, prompt, and friendly. Restaurants - The buffet was just as good (if not be..." – jasmith79
56 out of 78 (72%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from ocean Great sunsets! Beautiful beach! Castle in the Sky Deco Beach View
All Customer Reviews
1-4 of 73 reviews. Sort by
February 15, 2019
All in All...... GOOD!

We stayed at RIU Vallarta Tuesday, Jan. 29 -Tuesday, Feb. 5. It is a beautiful resort as most RIUs are! The staff is great. Rooms are clean. Beach is awesome. The entertainment was wonderful! The only negative comment was the view from our room. It was listed as a "garden view". There was no garden, just a parking lot and dirt road. As we are RIU class gold members we were hoping for an upgrade but we were told there weren't any other rooms available until Friday if we wanted to change our room AND there would be an additional charge. We thought as RIU Class gold members there are supposed to be free upgrades??? We were with friends and didn't spend much time in our room anyway so we were fine. What we learned from this experience...If you like to spend time on your balcony enjoying a nice view, don't pick a "garden view" here! Otherwise...it's FABULOUS!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: PA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 20, 2019
Pay the extra money and go to the Palace

First let me say I love the Rius and I only stay at the Riu resorts and have been to many over the years .. some several times.(Punta Cana, Cabo, Playa Del Carmen, Panama, Costa Rica, Jamaica) We always get great food, great service and high standards of being clean and orderly. Not at the Riu Vallarta. We went with 8 people, 4 rooms.. bringing 2 couples to a Riu for the first time and I was embarrassed as we talked it up so much. This by far is below standards to any other Riu I have been to. It was packed and there wasn't enough staff to maintain the cleanliness I have come to expect at any Riu. The buffet areas were messy with spills and drips everywhere, empty food trays, long lines and they ran out of, plates and forks. We ate on small plates using a spoon. The servers were friendly and tried their best but they couldn't keep up with their sections as there were just too many people and we had to bus our own tables. I can handle poor service, long lines and long waits but I won't compromise on cleanliness. . By the end of the day, we spoke to the manager to tell them of our disappointment. They said the hotel was at capacity (1100) and it isn't the same level of service that you get at a Palace. Well I have been to both Palace and other levels of many Ruis and service/cleanliness was always good. Maybe you don't have people waiting on you at the bar or beach at a non-palace and I'm fine with that..but it has always been clean and I told them so. Fortunately, after our discussion, they moved us to the Riu Palace the next morning. It was like night and day. Clean, and not as packed. Apparently the Palace holds 800 people and they had more employees to maintain it as expected. If you have the same experience, don't settle.. We pay a lot of money to go on vacation and as a guest, we need to hold them to the standard that the Riu offers. Know that the Riu no longer has straws so bring a reusable straw if you want it for your drink. For Riu in Puerto Vallarta, just take a taxi to and from the airport.. It was $40 Amercan dollars for 8 of us to go from airport to Riu which is a lot less than adding transportation with the package.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 13, 2018
10th visit and the Riu Vallarta doesn't disappoint

We always enjoy staying at this resort. The staff is amazing! Drinks were excellent! Looking forward to the remodel that starts August 2019. Should be a great improvement for the resort. Food was okay. Hoping that it will be a little better, after the remodel! Again, staff was AMAZING!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 11, 2018
Staff is amazing

I will start off by saying that the staff is amazing. The entertainment was great. Our waitress at the buffet Yessy was spectacular. With that said The food was just OK and the hotel itself needs a major upgrade lots of things wrong with the room are safe didn’t work,friends had issues with their rooms and the beds are extremely hard. The pool and beach were very clean. The pool entertainment was great


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

Room Information

Riu Vallarta features 550 guestrooms appointed with air conditioning, Satellite TV, telephone, radio alarm clock, 110V outlets, in-room safe, mini-bar with liquor dispenser and a spacious balcony or terrace.

Room Details

Double Room (DBSB)
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Double Room Partial Ocean View (DBLB)
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Junior Suite Ocean View (SJMB)
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

What's to Love

No reservations needed at any of the restaurants.

The resort's Art Deco architecture hugged by epic palms that rises up from the sandsational beach.

The liquor dispensers in the rooms. It's a party. Just add people.

The stress-ousting treatments at the world-class, delicious spa. Unplug and unwind.

RiuLand - supervised fun for the little ones while you savor that beachtastic drink by the teal waves.

Teeing off at the 18-hole, championship golf course that's right next door.

The RiuFit program that includes backfit, aquagym, stretching and bums-legs-tums.

Dancing the night away at the Pacha nightclub - get ready for some head-sweatin'.

 

What We'd Change

Downtown Puerto Vallarta's shopping and nightlife are quite a drive, but Nuevo Vallarta marina is a closer alternative that's just as much fun.

 

Why You Should Go

The airport is a mere 15 minutes from the airport so you'll be on that sweet beach lickety split.

Be sure to visit Cuale Island, a shady and tranquil oasis, to shop for crafty, cool souvenirs.

Banderas Bay is brimming with animal fun: see the release of sea turtles & swim with dolphins.

Get up early to snag a beach lounger. They go fast.

You can go horseback riding in the Sierra Madres, a bucket-list-worthy thing to do.

If you're more adventurous, there's bungee jumping. Hang on!

There are oceans of water sports: bodyboarding, kayaking, windsurfing and more. Take the plunge.

Available Amenities

  • Tour Assistance
  • Car Rental Available
  • Beach
  • Volleyball
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Babysitting/Child Care ($)
  • Children's Activities
  • Children's Pool
  • Conference Facilities ($)
  • Cribs Available on Request
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Fitness/Exercise Room
  • Gift Shop
  • Jacuzzi
  • Kids Club
  • Lounge Chairs/Umbrellas
  • Nightly Entertainment
  • Playground
  • Swimming Pool(s)
  • Tennis Court(s)
  • 24 Hour All-Inclusive
  • Sauna
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Medical Services ($)
  • Non-Smoking Rooms (on request)
  • 4 Restaurants
  • Porter/Bellhop
  • Elevators
  • Spa ($)
  • Beach Towels
  • Wedding Services ($)
  • Dry Cleaning Services ($)
  • Honeymoon Packages ($)
  • Free Parking
  • Beauty Salon ($)
  • Handicap Facilities/Wheelchair Accessible


Nearby Excursions & Attractions

  • Bars and Nightlife
  • Beach
  • Dive Shop(s)
  • Fitness Center
  • Horseback Riding
  • Jet Ski Rentals
  • Marina
  • Medical Facilities
  • Motor Boat Rentals
  • Nightlife
  • Scooter/Moped Rental
  • Scuba Diving
  • Shopping
  • Snorkeling
  • Spa(s)/ Wellness Center(s)
  • Tennis Courts
  • Water-Skiing
  • Watersports Rentals

Map of Local Area

Rapidly being acknowledged as a destination in its own right, the great choice of hotels and resorts guarantees that Riviera Nayarit can cater to everybody's vacation tastes and styles.

Riu Vallarta

Avenida de los Cocoteros s/n

+52 322 226 7250

Hotel Description

Riu Vallarta: Your All-Inclusive Pacific Coast Paradise

Sheltered by the crazy spectacular Sierra Madres on the Nayarit Riviera, this escape-haven aka resort is where your beach dreams come true. You get it all, and more. With unlimited everything like delicious grub, tropical drinks, water sports, and more, you'll be set. You also get access to the sister resorts that are a whisper away. Seriously, there's wave after wave of Awesome here and it's all waiting for you.

It's Time to Get Your Riu On.



DINING

It's a mouthwatering mash-up of Mesoamerican and European flavors that will without a doubt slay your taste buds: a buffet with live cooking stations, an exotic Asian spot, a steakhouse with sizzling cuts and a restaurant that boasts gourmet global flavors. Nom. Nom. Nom.

Don Rafael
Type: International
Hours: Breakfast - daily, 7am-10:30am; Dinner - daily, 6:30pm-10:30pm
Description: Restaurant with terrace serving a full American breakfast buffet and on-the-spot cooking stations. International fare for dinner.
Dress code: T-shirts with sleeves and long trousers for gentlemen.

Sir George
Type: Gourmet
Hours: Daily, 6:30pm-9pm
Description: Gourmet a la carte restaurant.
Dress code: Shirts with sleeves and long trousers for gentlemen.

Nirvana
Type: Asian
Hours: Daily, 6:30pm-9pm
Description: Buffet restaurant serving Asian cuisine.
Dress code: Shirts with sleeves and long trousers for gentlemen.

Flamingo
Type: Steakhouse
Hours: Breakfast - daily, 7am-10:30am; Lunch - daily, noon-3:30pm; Dinner - daily, 6:30pm-9pm
Description: A la carte beachside restaurant/grill and steakhouse with terrace. Buffet starters and desserts.
Dress code: Shirts with sleeves and long trousers for gentlemen.

All hours are subject to change.



BARS/NIGHTLIFE

You can get your drink on night (and day, it's your vacay) at an epic lounge with a terrace, a sweet lobby bar, sports bar and the best, at the swim-bar. Beach Citizens, it's time to par-tay.

La Boheme
Lounge bar with terrace.

Astoria
Lobby bar.

La Plaza
Sports Bar.

Mezcal
Poolside bar with swim-up bar.



BEACHES AND POOLS

Cradled by the majestic Sierra Madres, this golden-sandy, Pacific-facing beach, kissed by purring waves, will have you melting in no time. Don't miss the two shimmering pools with an adjoining Jacuzzi that are just a seashell's throw away from the beach. Your young ones even have their own pool for splish-splashing. Dive in.

SPORTS/ACTIVITIES

Water
  • Windsurfing
  • Catamaran sailing
  • Kayaking
  • Body boarding
  • One free introductory scuba diving lesson in the pool

Available for an additional charge:

  • Scuba diving
Land
  • Fitness center
  • Volleyball
  • Table tennis

Available for an additional charge:

  • Horseback riding
  • Bicycle rental

Golf
The 18-hole, championship course at Flamingos Golf Club is right next to Riu Vallarta. Riu guests enjoy special rates at Flamingos.
Now through April 30, 2013:

  • Daylight: $98 USD
  • After 2pm: $75 USD
  • After 3pm: $40 USD
  • Shared golf cart with 2 bottles of water
  • Scheduled transportation between Riu Vallarta and Flamingos
May 1, 2013 - December 31, 2013:
  • 20% off applied on regular published rates at time of booking.
    This discount does not apply to afternoon green fees.


INTERNET

Guests can use Wi-Fi in the lobby area for 90 consecutive minutes, daily. Wi-Fi is also available in guest rooms for an additional charge.

SPA SERVICES

Renova Spa is a full-service spa offering guests a variety of massage and beauty treatments for relaxation and rejuvenation for an additional charge.
  • Massages
  • Body treatments
  • Facials


WEDDING/HONEYMOON

The resort offers a variety of wedding services and packages. Please contact the resort directly for more information.

Honeymoon Bonus
The resort offers a variety of honeymoon services and packages. Please contact the front desk directly for more information.



CHILD CARE

The resort offers a playground, a children's pool and a kids' club with supervised daily activities for children ages 4-12.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Location
Riu Vallarta is located 15 min from Puerto Vallarta (PVR), 1.25 miles from Nuevo Vallarta and less than one mile from Flamingos Golf Club.

Check In/Check Out
Check-in: 3pm. Check-out: noon.
A valid credit card may be required upon check-in for possible incidentals not included in your hotel reservation.

Holy Week
In observance of Holy Week, some resorts in the Dominican Republic, Mexico, and Costa Rica may put limits on the use of motorized water sports, and loud music.

MIN CHECK-IN AGE/SPRING BREAK POLICY: Student/Spring Break groups or individuals, regardless of age are not allowed at this hotel at any time. The hotel reserves the right to use reasonable means to identify suspected student/spring break groups. At least one person of 21 years or older is required in every room during March and April. The Hotel may request guests to show passport or official ID to proof age and reserves the right to refuse admission to anyone. In-room parties, unruly behavior and spring break groups are not allowed at any Riu Resort. Guests can and will be removed from the property at their own expense in the event of any disturbance or complaint from other guests or hotel staff.

Smoke-Free Policy
Under Mexican legislation smoking is not permitted in the public areas of the hotel except in specifically designated areas.

Currency Policy
Please note that as of June 1, 2011, Riu Resorts in Mexico no longer accept or exchange US dollars at the front desk. ATMs are available in the lobby of each resort for withdrawals in Mexican currency.

Resort Update
Riu Vallarta will be closed for renovations from August 26, 2019 to November 23, 2019.



All hours, fess, amenities, information and services are subject to change without notice.
Close
 

Choose Your Options

Depart:  
Number of Rooms:
 
Room 1 Details:
  • Double Room
- or -
Choose a Vacation Package
and Save More!
$100 Air Credit More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 4/1 - 8/19
Starting at $749 was $1019
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 6 days left to book!
$100 Air Credit More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 2/25 - 4/20
Starting at $849 was $1379
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 6 days left to book!
$35 Spa Credit More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 11/24 - 12/23
Starting at $779 was $1009
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 6 days left to book!

Need Assistance?

Call one of our U.S. based Beach Experts.

(800) 915-2322
7 Days a Week - 5am to 3am EST