Search
Deals
Cruises
Get Help
Call Us

Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Mexico - Riviera Maya

Our Rating
1-833-531-2709
3 Nights with Air from $839 All-Inclusive
Info Customer Reviews Questions & Answers
Customer Rating
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.6 out of 5
"I have visited this resort 6 times and will be going this week taking 8 of our friends. This resort has the best food ever...we don't even go to the special resturants because the buffet is excellent. ..." – 1956chick
335 out of 363 (92%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Enjoying great food Relaxing by the pool Beach My son playing pool volleyball The Riu lobby beach Beautiful beach Riu Palace Riviera Maya Vacation Paradise Room Water leaking from the roof into the walls equal a moldy smelling loby and rooms. Having dinner at the buffet pool Family Water leaking from the roof into the walls equal a moldy smelling loby and rooms.
All Customer Reviews
1-4 of 296 reviews. Sort by
December 9, 2018
Amazing!

My husband and I took our honeymoon here and it was the best decision hands down! All we wanted to do was relax and we did just that by the beautiful pools and beaches! We got way too full every meal because the food was so good! Bartenders and the activities coordinators were amazing as well, especially Jonathon, Jesus, Alan, and Adriana. There was enough going on throughout the day to keep you entertained such as water volleyball, sand volleyball, foam party, Bingo, etc. My husband surprised me with a massage on the beach. This place truly is beautiful, relaxing, and fun! We just got back and we are already talking about going again!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Indisna
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 27, 2018
Good Place to Relax

We've stayed at this hotel few years ago, we like the outside layout and architecture, especially the pool and the beach. Food is great. Rooms are just a little outdated, but we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. We chose it again for the accessibility. The resort is medium-sized, beaches are in walking distance. We had a baby stroller to push, so everything needed to be accessible. The hotel has 1-2 elevators only by the reception (all the way in the back). Ironically, we've requested a room at the first floor, to avoid carrying the stroller up and down 2-3 times a day. They put us in a room on the 3rd floor. So, from our room (mid-way to the beach) had to walk to the reception area for the elevator, than walk all the way back to the beach. This part (lack of elevators) was a little frustrating and inefficient, but we didn't waste the time to complain. We anticipated the required effort, so we requested a lower level in advance, bu they did not provide Also, I've learned that Kid's club is free.They charged us $15/hour for our son. We befriended a Mexican family in the resort and they told us their son was not required to pay(???) Staff is friendly and the food is great, we may return, but first would like to try other resorts for comparison.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: IL, US
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 22, 2018
great vacation

We had a great vacation experience, including food, water, except the bathroom had a bad smell. We notified the reception the tried to get rod of the smell, but the next day the bad odor was still there. I want to give special thanks to Lupita the Girl from a kids club. She is great, always doing great entertainment, and she is awesome.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44

November 21, 2018
Delightful

This was the second year in a row we stayed st this resort. It was anything but full and partly as a consequence we got a Jr. Suite Superior with the best view in the hotel, overlooking the beach (most rooms face the plaza, which, while lovely itself, is no match for the beach view. The resort staff is uniformly pleasant and helpful. A particular standout is Paulinho, a very tall gentleman who usually mans the door. The food is good and varied with lots of options at breakfast, the usual gringo fare of omelettes, etc but also traditional Mexican fare like chiquaqilles, soups, etc. The five specialty restaurants all feature tasty food and very attentive service, though if you’re looking for a truly outstanding steak, you won’t find it here. We did, however, havean exceptional cut of beef with a surf and turf special at the Mexican restaurant, the name of which escapes me, such that we asked to see the chef and gave him a round of applause when he appeared. Drink service at the pool is attentive and fast. The pool bar is especially fun since it is positioned so that you are in the shade while sitting at the bar. The resort itself is beautiful, spacious and very clean. The ride into “5th Avenue”, the nearby shopping area costs $6 or 90 pesos and is well worth it. The weather this year was better than last but the Caribbean weather is always a bit of a crap shoot this time of year. This year it was fantastic. Previous problem with sargasso seaweed were not in evidence but, like the weather, it’s chancy.

Delightful Delightful
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Alexandria VA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

Room Information

Riu Palace Riviera Maya features 400 guestrooms decorated like an aristocratic Mexican hacienda. Rooms come equipped with a ceiling fan, flat screen satellite TV, laptop size electronic in-room safe, telephone, radio alarm clock, hydro-massage tub, daily-restocked mini-bar, liquor dispenser, an integrated lounge area and a balcony or terrace.

Room Details

Junior Suite (SJSB)
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Junior Suite Superior (SJEB)
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

What's to Love

No reservations needed at any of the restaurants.

Finding your perch on Cancun's white sandy shores with turquoise waves rolling in and sweet sunshine for days.

Toasting with a fun, fruity cocktail on the terrace. You'll feel like you've arrived, beach lovers.

Hitting the main pool and zeroing in on the main hub of activity - the swim-up bar. It does not disappoint.

RiuFit has all kinds of ways to get your burn on - backfit, aquagym, stretching and bums-legs-tums.

If you are struck by the late-night munchies, 24-hour room service will deliver straight to your room.

Striking up friendly competition with a few rounds of ping pong, volleyball or tennis (lit for night play.)

 

What We'd Change

Guys - pack some long pants for dining at night at the a la carte restaurants.
 

Why You Should Go

You're a short five minutes from the delicious Playa del Carmen - beaches, golf, watersports and shopping.

Dining at Chilis - the resorts steak and lobster restaurant, which is muy bueno.

You can hit all the Riu bars in Playacar. Go ahead - taste test all the tequilas. You're on vacay.

RiuLand is where the kiddos can play & craft the day away while you melt into stress- extraction at the spa.

If you're up exploring, the Mayan ruins and the Sian Ka'an reserve should top your list.

Riu's fab entertainment team is ready to perform - live music in the day and Broadway-esque at night.

Available Amenities

  • Tour Assistance
  • Car Rental Available
  • Beach
  • Volleyball
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Babysitting/Child Care ($)
  • Children's Pool
  • Conference Facilities ($)
  • Cribs Available on Request
  • Fitness/Exercise Room
  • Jacuzzi
  • Kayaks
  • Kids Club
  • Laundry Services ($)
  • Lounge Chairs/Umbrellas
  • Nightly Entertainment
  • Playground
  • Swim-Up Bar(s)
  • Swimming Pool(s)
  • Windsurfing
  • 24 Hour Front Desk
  • 24 Hour All-Inclusive
  • Sauna
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Billiards
  • Scuba Lessons
  • Non-Smoking Rooms (on request)
  • 6 Restaurants
  • 4 Bars/Lounges
  • Spa Services ($)
  • Porter/Bellhop
  • Shopping
  • Elevators
  • Health Club
  • Beach Towels
  • Handicap Room Available
  • Wedding Services ($)
  • Dry Cleaning Services ($)
  • 24 Hour Room Service
  • Honeymoon Packages ($)
  • Free Parking
  • Beauty Salon ($)
  • Gift Shop ($)
  • Wireless Internet in lobby
  • Banquet Facilities ($)


Nearby Excursions & Attractions

  • Bars and Nightlife
  • Beach
  • Dining
  • Dive Shop(s)
  • Golf Course(s)
  • Jet Ski Rentals
  • Medical Facilities
  • Motor Boat Rentals
  • Parasailing
  • Sailing
  • Scuba Diving
  • Shopping
  • Water-Skiing

Map of Local Area

Here you will find an abundance of possibilities, something for every person of any age, for every type of vacation, for every budget and every activity.

Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int. Fracc. Fase II Solidaridad

+52 98 48 77 2280

Hotel Description

Riu Palace Riviera Maya: All-Inclusive Haven On The Shores Of Playacar

Go ahead and dig your toes into this little slice of Eden - the sand is snow white and the teal waves are stunning. It's your beach lovin' dreams coming true, no doubt. And with Riu's commitment to impeccable service, you won't need to worry about a thing - except maybe which bar you're going to grab your next cocktail. You really will find it all here - entertainment day and night, activities to entertain you every minute of the day and plenty of opportunities to melt all that bothersome stress away.

It's Time to Get Your Riu On.



DINING

The delish cuisine selections are varied, with a great mix of all your favs, and of course some locally-made Mexican dishes. In addition to the a la carte restaurants for dinner, you'll also get to savor themed buffets (with live cooking stations), and if dining in is more your style, 24-hour room service will take care of you. Eat up.

Don Manolo
Type: Buffet
Hours: Breakfast - daily, 7am-10:30am; Lunch - daily 1pm-3pm; Dinner - daily, 6:30pm-10:30pm
Description: Buffet with on-the-spot cooking stations.

Botafoga
Type: Brazilian
Hours: Daily, 6:30pm-8pm and 8:30pm-10:30pm
Description: Buffet starters and desserts with table service during the main course.

Agave
Type: Mexican
Hours: Daily, 6:30pm-8pm and 8:30pm-10:30pm
Description: Buffet starters and desserts with table service during the main course.

Chilis
Type: Grill
Hours: Daily, 10:30am--6pm. 2 seatings at 7pm and 8:30pm
Description: Casual restaurant located by the pool.

Krystal
Type: Nouvelle
Hours: Daily, 6:30pm-8pm and 8:45pm-10:15pm
Description: Contemporary menu featuring fusion cuisine.
Dress code: Elegant casual. Gentlemen are requested to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

Yashima
Type: Japanese
Hours: Daily, 6:30pm-8pm and 8:30pm-10:30pm
Description: Japanese cuisine.
Dress code: Elegant casual. Gentlemen are requested to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

All restaurant hours subject to change.



BARS/NIGHTLIFE

The libation-savvy bartenders are ready to serve you any crafty concoction you want - they even have a few cocktail ideas of their own. It's 24-hour, all-inclusive so you can drink from dawn till dusk. Cheers.

Daiquiri
Poolside and swim-up bar. Daily, 9am-6pm.

La Habana
Lobby bar. Daily, 10am-midnight.

Lirico
Lounge bar with terrace. Daily, 6pm-midnight.

Sports Bar
24-hour bar.



BEACHES AND POOLS

Jaw-dropping white sands and off-the-charts gorgeous turquoise waters create the most perfect setting. If the pool is more your style, the resort has two where you can spend your sunshiny days (and the ocean views are dazzling). It's Paradise Found.



SPORTS/ACTIVITIES

Water

  • Windsurfing
  • Catamaran
  • Kayak
  • Body board
  • Snorkeling
  • Scuba lesson in pool
Land
  • Fitness
  • Table tennis
  • Volleyball
  • Tennis

For an additional charge:

  • Billiards
  • Golf


INTERNET

Riu Palace Riviera Maya offers complimentary Wi-Fi access in common areas and in guest rooms.



SPA SERVICES

Renova Spa at Riu Palace Riviera Maya offers a variety treatments that will leave you relaxed and recharged for an additional charge.



WEDDING/HONEYMOON

Riu Palace Riviera Maya has the perfect spot to tie the knot. Choose one of their wedding packages to make your day unforgettable and perfect!



CHILD CARE

Along with a children's pool and play area, the hotel also offers daily entertainment at RiuLand for kids ages 4-7 and 8-12.



ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Location
Riu Palace Riviera Maya is located 34 miles from Cancun International Airport (CUN), 42 miles from downtown Cancun and 2 mi from the town of Playa del Carmen.

Check-In/Check-Out
Check-In: 3pm. Check-Out: 11am.
A valid credit card may be required upon check-in for possible incidentals not included in your hotel reservation.

Holy Week
In observance of Holy Week, some resorts in the Dominican Republic, Mexico, and Costa Rica may put limits on the use of motorized water sports, and loud music.

Spring Break Policy

Student/Spring Break groups or individuals, regardless of age are not allowed at this hotel at any time. The hotel reserves the right to use reasonable means to identify suspected student/spring break groups. At least one person of 21 years or older is required in every room during March and April. The Hotel may request guests to show passport or official ID to proof age and reserves the right to refuse admission to anyone. In-room parties, unruly behavior and spring break groups are not allowed at any Riu Resort. Guests can and will be removed from the property at their own expense in the event of any disturbance or complaint from other guests or hotel staff.

Smoke-Free Policy
Under Mexican legislation smoking is not permitted in the public areas of the hotel, except in specifically designated areas.

Currency Policy
Please note that as of Jun 1, 2011, Riu Resorts in Mexico longer accept or exchange U.S. dollars at the front desk. ATMs are available in the lobby of each resort for withdrawals in Mexican currency.

Resort Update
Please note, Riu Palace Riviera Maya will be closed for renovations beginning August 13, 2019 and is expected to reopen December 7, 2019.

Environmental Levy Fee
The Municipalidad of Solidaridad in the Rivera Maya is one of the most beautiful places in the Mexican Caribbean. Tourism has been instrumental in driving the economic and social development of the region. In an effort to continue to preserve, conserve and beautify the destination, the Municipality of Solidaridad has implemented a small environmental levy on visitors effective September 1, 2017. Hotels will collect 20 Mexican pesos per room per day on check out; the proceeds will be deposited in an environmental trust to fund local projects. The Municipalidad of Solidaridad thanks you for your understanding and support of this worthwhile endeavor. Thank you and enjoy your visit.



All hours, fees, amenities, information and services are subject to change without notice.
Close
 

Choose Your Options

Depart:  
Number of Rooms:
 
Room 1 Details:
  • Junior Suite
- or -
Choose a Vacation Package
and Save More!
4 days, 3 nights
Travel Dates 12/15 - 12/30
Starting at $839 was $1409
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Hurry! Only 2 days left to book!
$35 Spa Credit More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 1/2 - 3/31
Starting at $859 was $1969
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Hurry! Only 2 days left to book!
$35 Spa Credit More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 4/1 - 6/22
Starting at $839 was $1479
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 3 days left to book!
Spa Credit More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 6/23 - 8/12
Starting at $1009 was $1409
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 3 days left to book!

Need Assistance?

Call one of our U.S. based Beach Experts.

(800) 915-2322
7 Days a Week - 5am to 3am EST

All Mexico - Riviera Maya Resorts