Search
Deals
Cruises
Get Help
Call Us

Melia Caribe Beach Resort

Dominican Republic - Punta Cana

Our Rating

4 Nights with Air from $769 All-Inclusive
Info Customer Reviews Questions & Answers
Customer Rating
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.9
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.8
3.9 out of 5
"We got back from a 9 night vacation at teh Melia Caribe Tropical and it rates as was one of the best family vacations we've had. The resort is huge and sprawled across many acres but easily accessible..." – fufu
471 out of 644 (73%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Animals was beautiful Main Pool Royal Service beach pool and swim up bar Ahhh the Pool beach Birthday day girl Resort Beach View out of beach restaurant Royal Service Beach This is a typical room offered with the Royal Service upgrade. Cigar Roller lots of palms trees on the beach Beach Beachside Pool Loving Paradise Supposed to be a crab cake...it was awful Paradise Beach Gazebo My special needs child and daddy the view from our table at breakfast and lunch everyday Beach clean and beautiful Paradise VIP beach All white affair - girls Beautiful flamingos greet you daily My 2nd Fish of the Day.... Royal Service Anniversary surprise Great sunrise panorama. Kayaking beach All white affair - the guys
All Customer Reviews
1-4 of 554 reviews. Sort by
March 17, 2019
Very large property , great beach !

We were in building 33, maybe 150 yards from the beach but 600-700 yards from the restaurants for dinner. Buffet and beach club are closer for lunch. Buffet is large with lots of choices, service for drinks was very slow. The pasta bar was very good. The beach is awesome, lots of loungers and beds. Hobie cats were great along with paddle boarding and kayaking. The shuttle service is fair, they need more shuttles,as waits can be up to 13 minutes that we experienced.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: The Woodlands Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 26, 2019
Not What I expected

The beaches and the weather was beautiful. The overall resort was beautiful in terms of grounds. The food was terrible and at times inedible. It was hard to get a drink at the bar at night and there was no pool service by the beach or even at the pool. The staff needs to be trained more. I asked a questions and on a few occasions, I received the wrong information. Last but certainly not least, the room was generally clean ( bed made, towels exchanged), however other than that there was dust everywhere. There was a pit or something like looked like it in the bidet from the minute I got there. I couldn't take looking at it everyone time I walked into the bathroom so I covered it with a tissue. The next day the tissue was gone, however the pit was still there.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: NEW YORK
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 22, 2019
Disapppointed

We were excited about visiting the Melia Caribe Level again since we had such a GREAT experience there in 2017. At that time, the Level was Adults only with exclusive access to certain areas of the beach, pool,restaurants and housing. Upon arrival at the resort, we did not receive the warm welcome that we had previously experienced. We were taken to our room which was in a totally different area of the resort - the furthest point from the beach. Our accommodations were not acceptable - Air conditioner dripping on the floor, musty smell in the room and ants crawling on the wall behind the bed. We requested a different room and were taken to a room 3 buildings away. This room was much better - we settled in and were fine until awakened the next morning by the sound of children running on the floor above us - so much for "adults only" which we paid extra for. Our room was directly across from the old GABI (now the Riviera) and we watched young children seated at the bar at all hours of the day - again "adults only" was totally misleading. We noticed that the vegetation and flowers did not appear to be irrigated or maintained - not nearly as lush and beautiful as 2 years ago. The beach was beautiful except for the accumulation of seaweed that appears to be raked only weekly. Flight and weather were great - unlike the Melia Caribe Level.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 20, 2019
Melia Caribe

This was our first out of country trip using your site and we will definitely use you again next year! We stayed at the Melia Caribe resort and it was gorgeous. The weather was great, we had no problems getting to our destination and then back home again. Everything was great. If i was to nit pick, it would have been nice if we could have sat together on the plane ride there because my wife gets nervous flying and the airline had us separated. On the flight home we had to pay for an upgrade because my wife wanted to sit together on the way back. Also we like are hotel room cold when we go to sleep and the thermostat on the wall was locked and wouldn't go to the temp we wanted. The food was great, the beaches were beautiful and we look forward to using your site again next year!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

Room Information

Melia Caribe Beach Resort features 1,128 guest suites in 44 two-story white bungalows surrounded by tropical gardens and tall palm trees and trams shuttle guests around the resort. The rooms feature a separate sitting area set off by an arch and furnished with a couch and an upholstered chair and stool. They are also equipped with air conditioning, hair dryer, in-room safe ($), internet access ($) available in some rooms and buildings, direct dial telephone, ceiling fan, cable TV, mini bar and balcony or terrace. Rollaway beds are not available.

Room Details

Deluxe Room
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Premium Room Beach Side
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Family Room Beach Side
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

THE LEVEL Premium Room
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

THE LEVEL Junior Suite
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

THE LEVEL Grand Suite
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

What's to Love

Chillaxing on the sugar-white sandy beach, cocktail in hand, watching the azure waves roll in.

The food - travelers reports that everything, especially the steak and lobster tails, is crazy good.

Two ginormous, free-form pools, each with swim-up bars for your day drinking pleasure.

The grounds keeping staff who offer coconuts and cut them open, fresh for you to drink.

 

What We'd Change

It might be gorgeous, but this place is huge! That's why we love the complimentary shuttles that take guests around the resort.

 

Why You Should Go

It's just 20 minutes from the airport - you'll be basking in the warm Dominican sun pronto.

There's wave after wave of water sports: sunfish sailing, water bikes, kayaking, canoeing and more.

It's a worldwide taste trek with 33 nosh spots that include French, Japanese, Thai, American classics and more.

Available Amenities

  • Tour Assistance
  • Car Rental Available
  • Business Center ($)
  • Casino ($)
  • Babysitting/Child Care ($)
  • Children's Activities
  • Children's Pool
  • Concierge Services
  • Fitness/Exercise Room
  • Gift Shop
  • Golf Course ($)
  • Jacuzzi
  • Kayaks
  • Kids Club
  • Nightly Entertainment
  • Playground
  • Snorkeling
  • Swim-Up Bar(s)
  • Internet Access ($)
  • Swimming Pool(s)
  • Tennis Court(s)
  • Shuttle Service
  • Windsurfing
  • Sailing
  • 24 Hour Front Desk
  • 24 Hour All-Inclusive
  • Sauna
  • Steam Room
  • Parking
  • Archery
  • Medical Services ($)
  • Game Room
  • Scooter/Motorcycle Rental
  • Arcade
  • Porter/Bellhop
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Massage ($)
  • Canoes
  • Spa ($)
  • Conference Facilities ($)
  • Yoga
  • Wedding Services ($)
  • 14 Bars/Lounges
  • Beach Volleyball
  • Wireless Internet Access ($)
  • Introductory Scuba Lesson
  • Banquet Facilities ($)
  • 14 Restaurants


Nearby Excursions & Attractions

  • Fishing
  • Sailing
  • Scuba Diving
  • Shopping
  • Water-Skiing

Map of Local Area

The Dominican Republic continues to grow as a major tourist destination due to its beautiful beaches, rich culture, and abundance of available activities.

Melia Caribe Beach Resort

Playa de Bavaro

+809 221 1290

Hotel Description

Melia Caribe Beach Resort: All-Inclusive Dominican Dream

Legendary white-sand beaches. Hypnotizing turquoise water. Knock-you-out amazing cocktails and global cuisine. This is your Dominican dream, an escape-haven for humans like you who are long overdue for some time away from the cold, cruel world. You can burrow away with a beach read or hit the casino with Lady Luck. It's all up to you because it's all here, ready to treat you like the real-life rock star that you are.

At Melia, the memories begin when you arrive.



DINING

Ready your taste buds because it's going to be an epic global trek with 14 nosh spots that include everything from French to Japanese. Thai to Mexican. Dominican to American. The list goes on and on. Beach appetite, hungry people.

La Gondola Restaurant available until October 31, 2018.
Type: Italian
Hours: Daily, 6pm-11pm
Description: A la carte Italian restaurant serving first class dishes including meats, fish, pasta and pizza.

La Pagoda Restaurant available until October 31, 2018.
Type: Chinese
Hours: Daily, 6pm-11pm
Description: This Chinese dinner restaurant specializes in popular a la carte choices such as Peking duck and wonton soup. Reservations are required.
Dress code: Elegant casual

Gabi
Type: International
Hours: Breakfast - daily, 6:30am-11am; Lunch - daily, 12:30pm-4pm; 6pm-11pm
Description: Exclusive restaurant for Royal Service guests where you can enjoy a fantastic buffet or a la carte cuisine. Included for The Level guests (does not include The Level Adults Only Guests).
Dress code: Elegant casual

Market Place Buffet Restaurant available until October 31, 2018.
Type: Buffet
Hours: Breakfast - daily, 7am-10:30am; Lunch - daily, noon-3:30pm; Dinner - daily, 6pm-10:30pm
Description: Featuring 6 different, live cooking buffets, air-conditioned facilities.
Dress code: Elegant casual

Le Gourmet Restaurant available until October 31, 2018.
Type: Fine dining
Hours: Daily, 6pm-11pm
Description: Serving international favorites, such as tuna in dill sauce and duck in orange sauce, Le Gourmet offers fine dining. Reservations are required.
Dress code: Elegant casual

La Hacienda
Type: Mexican
Hours: Daily, 6pm-11pm
Description: A la carte restaurant specializing in Mexican cusine.

American Grill Restaurant available until October 31, 2018.
Type: American
Hours: Daily, 6-11pm
Description: Open nightly serving a delicious variety of American dishes. Reservations required.
Dress code: Men must wear long pants. No shorts, sandals, or tank tops.

El Guarapo Restaurant available until October 31, 2018.
Type: Dominican
Hours: Daily, 6pm-11pm
Description: Offering a la carte Dominican dishes nightly. Reservations are required.
Dress code: Elegant casual

Ma Maison Restaurant available until October 31, 2018.
Type: Elegant
Hours: Daily, 6-11pm
Description: This a la carte dinner restaurant specializes in fine dining with dishes such as lobster thermidor and beef filet in sour cream and cognac. Reservations are required. For adults 18+ only.
Dress code: Elegant casual

Capri
Type: Seafood
Hours: Daily, 6pm-11pm
Description: Food from the sea, such as seafood crepes and grilled shellfish, is the attraction here. Reservations are required. For adults 18+ only.
Dress code: Elegant casual

Hokkaido ($)
Type: Japanese
Hours: Daily, 6pm-9pm
Description: This lovely Japanese venue features teppanyaki dinners, with guests seated around grills while chefs cook to order. Reservations are required. Additional charges apply.
Dress code: Elegant casual

Agora Grill Restaurant available until October 31, 2018.
Type:
Grill
Hours: Breakfast - daily, 7am-11am; Lunch - daily, 12:30pm-3:30pm; Snack - daily, 11:30am-6pm
Description: Agora Grill is located on the beach and serves breakfast and lunch buffets and grilled foods, such as burgers and chicken. In the evenings, it becomes an a la carte, Western-style barbecue and steak destination with terrace seating and no dress code. Reservations are required for dinner.

Cuatro Restaurant
Type: International
Hours: Daily, 7am-11pm
Description: Offering four different dining options, a beautiful setting for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Dress code: Elegant casual

Merkado
Type: International
Hours: Daily, 7am-11pm
Description: Offering an array of options on an international buffet.

Alma

Cafe NAO

All hours are subject to change.



BARS/NIGHTLIFE

Talk about a Party Buffet, with 14 bars, this is what you're in for. The cocktails flow freely and often on the beach, in the lobby and at the swim-up bars. Want more? There's a weekly Ibiza party (you have been forewarned.) There's even an exclusive chill-out club that combines a bar, restaurant and pool. Not to be forgotten is the casino with a sports bar and two Caribbean-poker tables. Two theaters present nightly shows with dancers. Fluff 'n buff and get out there.

Square Lounge
Offering fashionable cocktails and select international brand drinks. Daily, 4pm-12am.

Lobby Bars
Two bars are located in the Caribe and Tropical lobbies. The Caribe bar is open daily from 9am-1am, and the Tropical bar is open daily from 9am-5pm.

Fun Bar
An additional bar in the Tropical lobby. Daily, 8pm-2am.

The Sports Bar
Adjacent to the casino. Daily, 7pm-2am.

Avenue Bar
Hosts a weekly Ibiza party. Daily, 4:30pm-12am.

Pool Bars
Each of the two large pools has a swim-up bar. Daily, 9am-7pm.

Royal Service Beach Bar
This bar is only available to Royal Service area, and serves drinks. Daily, 10am-6pm.

Royal Service Lounge Bar
Located in the exclusive Royal Service lounge area. Also serves a light continental breakfast in the morning and coffee, beverages, and hors d'oeurves throughout the day. Daily, 7am-11pm.

Gabi Club
The exclusive chill-out club, a la carte contemporary Cuisine for Royal Service guests only, features chic but casual elegance where bar, restaurant and pool come together in a unique harmony. Every day and every night people come to mingle, to meet, feel the beat. Have a drink. Catch the groove. And experience new emotions in a fashion-forward ambiance. Additional charge applies. Serves drinks daily from 12:30pm-4pm, and also during the nightly dinner service.
Dress code: Men must wear long pants. No shorts, sandals, or tank tops.

Night Life
Two theaters present nightly shows featuring the resort's exceptionally talented dancers. The Avenue Bar has a weekly Ibiza party. Club Gabi has nightly entertainment, including live music and DJs.

Casinos
The casino offers 40 slot machines, six Black Jack tables, four roulette tables and two Caribbean-poker tables.



BEACHES AND POOLS

Hold on to something because you'll likely swoon when you see this legendary, white-sandy beach. For more cooling off, you can hit one of ten pools, two of which are free-form with swim-up bars and boast 12-person, cool-water spas. (That's a party.) Your little ones even have two pools of their own. Was that applause we just heard?

SPORTS/ACTIVITIES

Water

  • Kayaking
  • Canoeing
  • Windsurfing
  • Water bikes
  • Snorkeling
  • Sunfish sailing
  • Diving lessons

Land

  • Fitness center
  • Tennis
  • Climbing wall

Golf
A world-class golf course is right across the street. The 27-hole, world-class championship golf course Cocotal Golf & Country Club, is right across the street. Tickets must be requested upon arrival at registration area. A shuttle to the golf course is available.



INTERNET

Melia Caribe features a business center with Internet access and Wi-Fi in the lobby.

SPA SERVICES

Two spas available with sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and gym are available as part of the all inclusive package. Each of the spas also includes a private garden and outdoor pool and Jacuzzi areas. These pools offer topless bathing for those trying to avoid tan lines. Additional massage, body and facial treatments as well as a full beauty salon are also available for an extra cost.

WEDDING/HONEYMOON

Melia Caribe Beach Resort offers a variety of wedding, honeymoon and anniversary packages.

CHILD CARE

The hotel's Flintstones Land has daily activities and meals for children. Kid's Clubs are available for age groups ranging from infants and toddlers through kids and tweens from 10am-5pm. Parents must provide diapers and formula for children in the Baby Rock Club (4 months to 4 years old).

The Flintstones have found the perfect place for their holidays: they are staying with your family. Your kids can explore the Yabba-Dabba-Doo bazaar, gardens and swimming pools just like those Fred, Wilma, Barney and Betty enjoyed.



Melia Caribe's Splash Island Waterpark is also available for all ages to enjoy, open daily from 10am- 6pm!

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Location
Melia Caribe Beach Resort is located on the beach 15 minutes from Plaza Bavaro (shopping), 20 minutes from Manati Park (eco-park with dolphin encounters) and 60 minutes from Higuey. The Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) is approximately a 20-minute drive from the resort.

Check In/Check Out
Check-in: 3pm. Check-out: noon.
A valid credit card may be required upon check-in for possible incidentals not included in your hotel reservation.

Holy Week
In observance of Holy Week, some resorts in the Dominican Republic, Mexico, and Costa Rica may put limits on the use of motorized water sports, and loud music.

Water Advisory
The resort purifies water but recommends drinking bottled water provided in a refrigerator.

Local Attractions
A new shopping center, Palma Real Shopping Village, has just recently opened, with great restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Stores have everything from cigars, clothing, gifts, jewelry and more, including a Hard Rock Cafe and a Tony Roma's. And it's all within walking distance from the resort. Everyone strolls miles-long Bavaro Beach, from which glass-bottom boats, disco-party boats and snorkeling excursions depart, though they're not part of the all inclusive plan.

Resort Update
Melia Caribe Beach Resort has advised that the Market Place Buffet Restaurant, La Pagoda, & La Gondola restaurants are currently out of service. All services provided in these restaurants will be available in alternative venues.



All hours, fees, amenities, information and services are subject to change without notice.
Close
 

Choose Your Options

Depart:  
Number of Rooms:
 
Room 1 Details:
- or -
Choose a Vacation Package
and Save More!
$150 Air Credit More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 3/22 - 8/17
Starting at $769 was $1479
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 3 days left to book!

Need Assistance?

Call one of our U.S. based Beach Experts.

(800) 915-2322
7 Days a Week - 5am to 3am EST

All Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Resorts