Search
Deals
Cruises
Get Help
Call Us

Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Mexico - Riviera Maya

Our Rating

4 Nights with Air from $699 All-Inclusive
Info Customer Reviews Questions & Answers
Customer Rating
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.3 out of 5
"Everything about our vacation and Grand Palladium was GREAT!! Very good food options. We never had a bad meal and the service was very professional and friendly. The beaches and pools were clean and fu..." – Spritedad
225 out of 274 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
On our way to the saltwater pool Late night pool Pool at dusk Animal that jumped up on table to take food off your plate! Many choices of food to eat Fire show and party on the beach My husband playing The Crazy Game Sea Doo from the on site beach. Sasha and Andre' Morning sunrise Main lobby Heaven on earth Seaweed on the beach From the beach Beach Enjoying another sunny day at the pool Pool area At the white party Great big pool Deluxe Villas
All Customer Reviews
1-4 of 235 reviews. Sort by
August 10, 2019
Great Resort!

When we first arrived at Grand Palladium Colonial we were greeted by a bellman that took our bags and took us to the reception desk to check in. The check-in was very smooth and we were bought drinks - both alcoholic and non-alcoholic - right away. Then we told the bellman our room numbers and they took us and our luggage to our room. Our room was very nice. It was kind of cool the entire time we were there but it was nice because after being in the hot sun we were able to cool off quite a bit. There is a mini-fridge in the room that is filled up daily - there is juice, pop and beer. You can get drinks throughout the property. The drinks do seem to be watered down a bit though. The pool at the Colonial was nice but for someone short it was deep - I had to be on my tip toes to touch. This pool also had a spot for younger kids with water slides. We spent a lot of time at the White Sands pool which the resort over and not as deep. There is also an adults only pool - it wasn't very good - the pool was deep and not well staffed. Both pools had swim up bars which were great. The bartenders were always asking if we wanted more drinks. At lunch time there was a buffet at the Colonial that wasn't too far from the pool. There are several restaurants to eat at for dinner. You can choose ala carte where you can order off of a menu or buffet. Our first night we ate at the buffet and it was good. My son loved the sushi. The rest of our nights we ate at the ala carte restaurants - Thai, Mexican, Steak House, Japanese Steak House and Brazilian. I thought the food was good at all of them. I especially enjoyed the Steak House and Japanese Steak House. Breakfast was a buffet - there is one available at the 3 different resorts although they are all of them are open each day. The Colonial buffet was huge so if you want something smaller the one at White Sands was nice. Lunch was a buffet as well. Right at the edge of the ocean there was lots of seaweed which the resort tried cleaning up every day. There was a section that wasn't as bad. Each of the pools had activities every day. My mom and mother-in-law enjoyed the aerobics (at White Sands) and went there special for it. If you like coffee all of the major bars have a great coffee machine with coffee drinks on their drink menu. The buffets also have nice coffee machines - that make capacinos, americano coffee, etc. There are lots of activities you can do. We enjoyed swimming the most. My husband and son snorkeled and enjoyed it - the second largest coral reef in the world is here. My husband and I went to the spa for a couples massage that was really nice. We were able to use all of the pools, etc at the spa for the remainder of the day and eat/drink at their snack bar. We met up quite a bit at the Sports Bar which was nice. They had 2 X-Boxes that my kids liked. We spent time there to get out of the sun too. They had their own menu too. There were other bars that we could of gone to. I thought the nightly shows were excellent. The number of shows they had and being able to remember them for each night was amazing. The staff is great - friendly and welcoming. To get around the property they had trams. They were very convenient and one of the drivers - Gustavo - picked us up, took us where we wanted to go and then waited for us to take us somewhere else. The property was amazing with marble floors almost everywhere - including the rooms so it gets slippery. It was very clean. There were walking paths to get between resorts and your room. It is something how such a beautiful place was created. I enjoyed just walking around it and seeing everything. There was a lot of wildlife.They had 2 spots for flamingos. My son and his cousin enjoyed playing with the cats. I thought we might want to go off property before I got there but there is plenty to keep you busy the entire time. Being all inclusive was great. Never had to worry about paying for anything. You can tip if you want. This is a great resort and I would definitely recommend you going to.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44

August 7, 2019
Overall worth the price

Very big resort when you consider that it is essentially 3 full-sized resorts combined via walkways and shuttles (golf carts). Plenty of activities and things to see on the resort itself. We were there for 5 days and only saw roughly 2/3 of the entire place. Dining options were very good. Like most resorts you need to reserve your spot at the restaurants that require a reservation AT LEAST a day in advance. The other restaurants we waited no more than 15 minutes for a table without a reservation. In total there are 6 restaurants and 3 large buffets. Plus a handful of "snack bar" spots with typical bar food (burgers, fries, chicken fingers, etc.) Most of the bars were what I expected for a resort. Had to explain how to make some drinks to the bartenders, but they are more than willing to make things that are not on the drink menu if you walk them through how to do it. Some of the water activities (snorkling, scuba diving, catamaran, etc.) that were advertised as "included" on the resort website actually cost between $20 - $40 (or at least thats what i was told by the staff) which was my biggest gripe./ Also, bring a VISA and Mastercard credit cards. Some vendors only accept one or the other. Most vendors dont take discover. The ATM charges a $35 fee to take out cash, so make sure you have options for buying things. All in all I would recommend this to another person. We had a good time and didnt spend a fortune to do it.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Northeast, USA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 28, 2019

Great place to relax , eat & have fun . Staff friendly & helpful Beautiful room romance villa with AC & celling fan Mimi bar stocked daily . Food the normal American choices for picky eaters like me many snacks I’m not much of a Mexican food eater too much cheese & guacamole for me . Great big pool with a water slide for the kids , life guards on duty . Oh and let’s not forget the animals you’ll see running around it was like wild kingdom Safari

Many choices of food to eat Great big pool
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, Ny
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 24, 2019
Second time around

We returned for a second visit and realized why we enjoyed the property so much the first time.. Made reservations at restaurants which are a big step above buffets. The Palm grove beach is so relaxing with sailing and snorkeling available on the beach( Bring beach shoe for rocks) . We did both multiple days. Food and activities don't stop.Night show ( White Party) Fire show, etc are all entertaining. The quite Hemingway bar is a nice upscale diversion on the property. We are beach people and the pool water a bit warm but still took advantage of the swim up bar. Staff is very friendly, and with all the requests our friends had, never seemed like you were putting them out. Sea weed is an issue but they clean it up all day and do the best they can, It could be the new normal so be prepared to deal with it. A short 25 min hop to Tulum Ruins on the " Connectivo" shuttle shave us the tour fee si it's $3 each way pp, 5-6$ to get in Vs. $60 tour. However the beach at Tulum is ruined by the sea weed. We thought it was the most scenic beach at a previous visit but no one was in the water as its brown from seaweed with no way to clean it up. Great resort for Kids too as there were a lot of families there and they accommodate them very well. We will return. PS Turtle sanctuary is busy June thru Aug as the turtles come on shore to lay eggs and the staff protects them for release.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Harrisburg PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

Room Information

Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa features 413 comfortable accommodations equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV, daily-refilled minibar, ceiling fan, a terrace or balcony with garden views and room service from 11am-11pm.

Room Details

Deluxe
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Junior Suite
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Romance Villa Suite (Adults-Only)
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

What's to Love

The all-inclusive aah-some of it all - you want it? They deliver.

Over 800 yards of white sand for your beach frolicking, or chillaxing.

You won't need reservations at any of the restaurants.

Zentropia Spa at the nearby Grand Palladium Kantenah - hydrotherapy and couples' massage.

The crazy good breakfast buffet that beach lovers rave about.

 

What We'd Change

The Grand Palladium property is huge so it can be a bit of a trek for the tired traveler, but Grand Palladium Colonial is prepared with a transfer service to take you where you want to be on the property.

 

Why You Should Go

It's in gorgeous Akumal, and 45 minutes away from Cancun airport. You'll be sipping cocktails soon.

You get access to three other Palladiums - mega-sized treat for you - four resorts for one.

There's a bar called "Hemmingway." Bring your notebook and channel your inner author.

The grounds are massive. If you don't want a good walking workout, grab a shuttle.

You can drop your munchkins off at the Kids clubs - you get to go play on your own.

Available Amenities

  • Tour Assistance
  • Beach
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Babysitting/Child Care ($)
  • Children's Activities
  • Children's Pool
  • Cribs Available on Request
  • Currency Exchange
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Fitness/Exercise Room
  • Grocery Store
  • Kayaks
  • Kids Club
  • Laundry Services ($)
  • Lounge Chairs/Umbrellas
  • Snorkeling
  • Swim-Up Bar(s)
  • Internet Access ($)
  • Tennis Court(s)
  • Scuba Diving ($)
  • Shuttle Service
  • Sailing
  • Aerobics
  • 24 Hour Front Desk
  • Wedding Services
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Archery
  • Mini Golf
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Water Polo
  • Game Room
  • Shuffleboard
  • Darts
  • Spa Services ($)
  • Porter/Bellhop
  • Shopping
  • Teen Club
  • Fax Machine ($)
  • 12 Restaurants
  • Ice Machine
  • 15 Bars/Lounges
  • Honeymoon Packages ($)
  • Aqua Aerobics
  • Beach Volleyball
  • Wireless Internet
  • Watersports Center ($)
  • Beach Towels
  • Loungers at Beach and Pool
  • Beauty Salon ($)
  • Handicap Facilities/Wheelchair Accessible
  • Evening Entertainment
  • Handicap Rooms (on request)
  • Freshwater Swimming Pool(s)
  • Dive Shop ($)
  • ATM/Banking ($)
  • Fishing ($)
  • Doctor on call 24 hours
  • Banquet Facilities ($)


Nearby Excursions & Attractions

  • Bars and Nightlife
  • Beach
  • Chichen Itza and Coba Ruins
  • Deep-Sea Fishing
  • Dive Shop(s)
  • Fitness Center
  • Golf Course(s)
  • Grocery Store(s)
  • Kayaking
  • Mayan Ruins
  • Nature Park(s)
  • Scuba Diving
  • Shopping
  • Watersports Rentals
  • Windsurfing

Map of Local Area

Here you will find an abundance of possibilities, something for every person of any age, for every type of vacation, for every budget and every activity.

Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 256-100

+52 984 877 2100

Hotel Description

Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Expansive and epic, this palatial garden of Beach Eden has it all: scads of delish nosh spots and bar after bar where you can get your drink on. Zen-centric spa with treatments that range from Vichy massage to vapors baths to stress-ousting massages. Oceans of water sports and Mayan ruins are just a short hop away. If you want more adventure, head over to the other three Grand Palladiums in this Complex de Awesome. The ways to achieve total beachness are endless.

DINING

Here, it's an Epicurean Journey: the cuisine will take you through Italy, then guide you through the Mediterranean, venturing south to Brazil, then finishing with a sizzling, taste bud-slaying steak. And, you won't need reservations at any of the restaurants. Dig in.

La Laguna
Type:
Italian
Hours: Continental Breakfast - Daily, 11am-11:45am; Lunch - Daily, noon-4pm; Snacks - Daily, 4pm-5pm; Afternoon Tea - Daily, 5pm-6pm; Dinner - Daily, 6pm-10pm
Description: Buffet restaurant serving Italian dishes. Located under the palapa.

Kabah
Type: International
Hours: Breakfast - Daily, 7am-11am; Lunch - Daily, 1:30pm-3:30pm; Dinner - Daily, 6pm-10:30pm
Description: Smoke-free buffet restaurant serving Italian and Mexican dishes. Located in the Grand Palladium Riviera section.

La Adelita
Type:
Mexican
Hours: Daily, 5:30pm-10:30pm
Description: A la carte, smoke-free restaurant serving Mexican cuisine. Located in the Grand Palladium Colonial.

El Dorado
Type: Steakhouse
Hours: Daily, 5:30pm-10:30pm
Description: A la carte, smoke-free restaurant serving steaks and other grilled specialties. Located at Grand Palladium Colonial.
Dress code: Elegant casual. Gentlemen are requested to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

Bamboo
Type:
Asian
Hours: Daily, 5:30pm-10:30pm
Description: A la carte, smoke-free restaurant serving Asian cuisine. Located in the Grand Palladium White Sand section. Hours subject to change.
Dress code: Elegant casual. Gentlemen are requested to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

Ribs & More
Type:
Barbecue
Hours: Daily, 5:30pm-10:30pm
Description: A la carte, smoke-free restaurant serving barbecue and other casual favorites. Located in the Grand Palladium White Sand section.
Dress code: Elegant casual. Gentlemen are requested to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

Rodizio
Type:
Brazilian
Hours: Daily, 5:30pm-10:30pm
Description: A la carte, smoke-free restaurant serving Brazilian specialties. Located in the Grand Palladium White Sand section.
Dress code: Elegant casual. Gentlemen are requested to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

Portofino
Type:
Italian
Hours: Daily, 5:30pm-10:30pm
Description: A la carte, smoke-free restaurant serving Italian cuisine. Located in the Grand Palladium White Sand section.
Dress code: Elegant casual. Gentlemen are requested to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

Mare Nostrum
Type:
Mediterranean
Hours: Daily, 5:30pm-10:30pm
Description: A la carte, smoke-free restaurant serving Mediterranean cuisine. Located at Grand Palladium Kantenah.
Dress code:
Elegant casual. Gentlemen are requested to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

El Gran Azul
Type:
International
Hours: Breakfast - Daily, 7am-10:30pm; Dinner - Daily, 6pm-10pm
Description: Poolside buffet restaurant serving Italian and Mexican dishes. Located in the Grand Palladium Kantenah section.

Tikal
Type:
International
Hours: Breakfast - Daily, 7am-10:30pm; Dinner - Daily, 6pm-10pm
Description: Smoke-free buffet restaurant serving Italian and Mexican dishes. Located in the Grand Palladium Kantenah section.

Beach BBQ
Type:
Barbecue
Hours: Friday, 7pm-10pm
Description: Casual barbecue fare served on the beach with live music.

All hours are subject to change.



BARS/NIGHTLIFE

Drinks, glorious drinks can be had every which way here: chillax by the pool or the beach. Hang in the lobby or theater. With three other resorts nearby, the possibilities are exponential. Salud!

Kantenah Bar
Lobby bar. Daily, 10am-midnight.

Churchill Bar
Daily, 6pm-midnight.

Hemingway Bar
Daily, 6pm-midnight.

El Rinconcito Bar
Pool bar. Daily, 10am-6pm.

Colonial Bar
Daily, 10am-1am.

Gran Azul Bar
Daily, 10am-midnight.

La Plaza Bar
Theater bar. Daily, 8:30pm-11pm.

Beach Bar
Snack bar. Open 24 hours.

Riviera Bar
Lobby bar. Daily, 10am-1am.

El Teatro Bar
Theater bar. Daily, 8:30-11pm.

La Laguna Bar
Daily, 10am-midnight.

Punta Emilia Bar
Beach bar. Open 24 hours.

Secret Bar
Daily, 10am-midnight.

La Isla Bar
Daily, 10am-7pm.

Las Rocas Bar
Daily, 10am-6pm.

All hours are subject to change.



BEACHES AND POOLS

How about a dreamtastic white, sandy beach hugged with palm trees? Palapas for shade? Got that. A lake-style pool with a swim-up bar? A coolio salt water pool? Four sweet Jacuzzis for bubbly relaxation? Got that, too. Beach Citizens, this is your escape-haven.

SPORTS/ACTIVITIES

Water
  • Beach volleyball
  • Snorkeling
  • Water Polo
  • Water aerobics
  • Sailing
  • Kayaks
  • Pedal boats

Available for an additional cost:

  • Windsurfing, sailboat and catamaran courses
  • Excursions
  • Deep-sea fishing
  • Scuba diving

Land

  • Fitness center
  • Aerobics
  • Mini golf
  • Ping-pong
  • Archery
  • Rifle practice
  • Darts
  • Billards (fees apply)
  • Tennis
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Shuffleboard
  • Petanque


INTERNET

Complimentary Wi-Fi is included in all guest rooms and the lobby.

SPA SERVICES

A full-service spa, Zentropia Spa, is located at the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa. Daily, 9am-8pm.
Reservations are required. Children under 18 are not allowed in the spa.
*Please note: A charge of $50 USD per person/per day is required for wet areas in the SPA at Grand Palladium.

  • Access to hydrotherapy circuit
  • Relaxation area
  • Massages
  • Unisex hair salon
  • Facials, body treatments and exfoliations
  • Waxing
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Healthy bar: 4 different snacks, almonds and fruits; juice therapy (10 different, 100% natural), teas and Nespresso coffee machine.


CHILD CARE

Supervised activities are available for children. Please contact the resort directly for more information.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Location
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa is located 50 miles south of Cancun International Airport (CUN), 20 minutes from Playa Del Carmen and seven minutes from Akumal.

Check In/Check Out
Check-in: 3pm. Check-out: noon.
A valid credit card may be required upon check in for possible incidentals not included in your hotel reservation.

Spring Break/Youth Policy
Policy for Spring Breakers or Student Groups: Palladium Hotel Group does not accept these type of groups at any time of the year, regardless of their age and whether or not they are escorted. At Palladium Hotel Group we reserve the right to withhold admission should any of these groups make a reservation and come to stay at one of the resorts. Official photo ID and full stay deposit will be required at check-in if it is obvious that the group is made up of students traveling together. Guests will be removed from property in the case of any disturbance or complaint from other guests or hotel staff.

Holy Week
In observance of Holy Week, some resorts in the Dominican Republic, Mexico and Costa Rica may put limits on the use of motorized water sports and loud music.


Resort Update
Palladium Hotels & Resorts has announced plans to upgrade its Riviera Maya Complex throughout 2017, including incorporating the current Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa into The Royal Suites Yucatan. This transformation will be completed in various phases starting on June 1, 2017. Construction will mostly take place within the current Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa and will have minimal impact. All guestrooms within the hotel, the rocky walkway along the water & the salt water pool area will be closed to all guests during the completion of the project. All other areas including the Riviera Lobby, Disco & Theatre, El Jardin Restaurant and the current The Royal Suites Lobby will be closed during certain dates listed below. During times of closure, the areas will not be accessible to guests and should therefore not impact the guest experience.

Below is a complete project timeline:

Disco & Theatre:
June 1-November 1, 2017: Construction will be in progress in the Disco and Theatre of the current Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa. During this time, alternate entertainment venues will be provided to guests. Once construction to the Disco and Theatre are complete, the Disco will convert to become one of four exclusive restaurants available to guests of The Royal Suites Yucatan and the Theatre will become the second exclusive restaurant providing guests with a Dinner and Show themed experience referred to as the Cabaret.

Riviera Lobby and Kabah Buffet:
June 1-September 15, 2017: Construction will be in progress at the current Riviera Lobby which will convert to the new The Royal Suites Lobby. Guests will not be affected by this construction since all guestrooms in Riviera will be closed. All hotel services will be available at the adjoining White Sand, Colonial and Kantenah Lobbies.

Construction will also be in progress at the Kabah Buffet. During this time, breakfast, lunch and dinner will be available at La Laguna as well as the other restaurants within the Riviera Maya Complex.

The renovated Kabah Buffet will feature 2 separate sections (1 buffet exclusively available to guests of The Royal Suites and 1 for guests of Grand Palladium).

El Jardin Restaurant & the current The Royal Suites Lobby:
September 16-December 1, 2017: Construction will be in progress at El Jardin restaurant and the current lobby of The Royal Suites. The current lobby for The Royal Suites will convert into 2 separate a la carte restaurants. By this time, the new lobby for The Royal Suites will be open at its new location and the buffet will be available at Kabah.

Environmental Levy Fee
The Municipalidad of Solidaridad in the Rivera Maya is one of the most beautiful places in the Mexican Caribbean. Tourism has been instrumental in driving the economic and social development of the region. In an effort to continue to preserve, conserve and beautify the destination, the Municipality of Solidaridad has implemented a small environmental levy on visitors effective September 1, 2017. Hotels will collect 20 Mexican pesos per room per day on check out; the proceeds will be deposited in an environmental trust to fund local projects. The Municipalidad of Solidaridad thanks you for your understanding and support of this worthwhile endeavor. Thank you and enjoy your visit.



All hours, fees, amenities, information and services are subject to change without notice.
Close
 

Choose Your Options

Depart:  
Number of Rooms:
 
Room 1 Details:
- or -
Choose a Vacation Package
and Save More!
$1,500 in Resort Credit More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 8/19 - 12/23
Starting at $699 was $949
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 7 days left to book!

Need Assistance?

Call one of our U.S. based Beach Experts.

(800) 915-2322
7 Days a Week - 5am to 2am EST

All Mexico - Riviera Maya Resorts