Search
Deals
Cruises
Get Help
Call Us

Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Mexico - Riviera Maya

Our Rating

4 Nights with Air from $869 All-Inclusive
Info Customer Reviews Questions & Answers
Customer Rating
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.3 out of 5
"Everything about our vacation and Grand Palladium was GREAT!! Very good food options. We never had a bad meal and the service was very professional and friendly. The beaches and pools were clean and fu..." – Spritedad
231 out of 281 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Many choices of food to eat Morning sunrise My husband playing The Crazy Game Main lobby Animal that jumped up on table to take food off your plate! Enjoying another sunny day at the pool On our way to the saltwater pool Seaweed on the beach Fire show and party on the beach Pool at dusk Beach Deluxe Villas Pool area Sea Doo from the on site beach. Late night pool From the beach Great big pool At the white party Sasha and Andre' Heaven on earth
All Customer Reviews
1-4 of 241 reviews. Sort by
September 10, 2019
Good Resort

I stayed at Colonial -which is 1 or 3 sister resorts that you have access too all amenities and restaurants. That was a huge plus-Colonial is the middle resort and closest to the big pools,nightly shows and restaurants. The stay overall was good but not great-Had a very hard time tracking someone down for drinks unless we were sitting right by a bar.We ate at the Hibachi,Italian and Steakhouse. Hibachi was our favorite-the others were just okay. The resort is huge and takes a bit to get anywhere-They have trams but they are few and far between to find.Overall great resort with very friendly staff -there is just too much area for staff to cover.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Cleveland,Ohio
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 6, 2019
Wonderful Stay! Issues with transport.

My mom and I stayed at this resort for a week on our annual girls trip! One week did NOT feel like enough, it was our first time at an all-inclusive in Mexico and we had a great time! Pros: The staff was very friendly, especially around the pools and the beach area. The resort was very clean, our rooms were kept clean and the mini-bar stocked! They even responded to requests we left on notes for the housekeeper! The beach and pool areas are beautiful!! There is always an activity going on! The spa was delightful. I definitely recommend getting yourself a massage. It's extra money, but you have access to the spa area for a couple days before and after. The massage itself was glorious! Cons: They do not give out maps! This resort is huge, and connected to other resorts, but we had a hard time navigating-especially the first couple of days! The map provided in the room was severely outdated and no help. I think we missed a good bit of what was available because it was too much like work to figure out where to go. The beach is very rocky! Bring water shoes with good bottoms, there is sometimes broken coral in the water that can cut you! Still pretty though. Iguanas are kind of everywhere, nothing to be done they're just kind of freaky. Our last day they ran out of towels by the pool. It was the only time it happened, but it took all day for us to get a beach towel! Food: The food at the buffets was the same everyday, but very good! Again, I think if we had a better idea of where everything was we would have tried more of the restaurants. As it is, the ones we did try (Mexican, Steak house, and Thai) were very good! Steak house has small portions (I got a side of fries and it was literally 3 fries), so eat the bread! TRANSPORT ISSUES!! This is not the resort's fault. However, in my opinion, it's an issue worth reviewing. We paid for the round trip airport transfer with Amstar and were sorely disappointed. No problems on arrival, everything was as advertised. We were told to book our return to the airport the day we arrived, and did so. The Amstar representative at the hotel told us to contact him if anything changed and we needed to change our pickup time. The day of our scheduled return the bellboy came to pick us (and our luggage) up and informed us that we had missed the transport! Amstar changed our pickup time to 40 mins earlier than scheduled without notifying us. When I called the company I was informed that we would not fit on the next transport and would miss our flight. The person on the phone told me "we always tell people to call 24 hours in advance to double check pickup time." We were NOT told that, nor was it on the receipt/ticket... however this very unconcerned representative simply recommended we take a taxi to the airport and contact cheapcarribean regarding a refund. We ended up having to pay $110 extra dollars for transport to the airport, ON TOP of what we originally paid for "round trip" transport. It was a ripoff, and infuriating. It's terrible to end a wonderful vacation feeling scammed. TL; DR Overall I would definitely recommend this resort! Great for all ages! I would not recommend the round trip transport, not only for the mistake, but for their handling of the issue.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Georgia, USA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 6, 2019
The best resort IN MEXICO

We cant give this resort enough stars. It is your typical all inclusive resort. But, here are some differences that made this resort a cut above the rest and our experience blissful, the best ever!! We are two adults with no children, who love adventure, new experiences and island style paradise. The staff - so friendly, helpful, warm and welcoming. This really made a wonderful impression. Nothing was too much effort for them and were happy to accommodate all our requests. The food - the food selection is incredible. Your typical buffet, but with different cuisines and themes every day. Then the fancy plated restaurants for a more fine dining experience. As if there was not enough selection, the chef gladly accommodated our special requests to perfection. The wait staff were also trained well, polite and helpful. Activities- we didnt leave the resort!!! For us that is a big thing. Yoga, pilates, running route, snorkeling, shooting, archery, kayaking, SUP and a luxury gym...all for free! Those are some of the things we did but there were plenty more. Beach vibes - there are plenty of areas around the resort for beach lounging and soaking up the sun. So many chairs and locations with the occasional hammock to lull u to sleep with the motion of the ocean. There are some restricted sections for exclusive guests but we didn't miss that much there with so much selection. And, like a hundred different beautiful pools, all with bars! The beach was rocky in sections but that made for great snorkeling just off the beach with a plethora fishes. Running onto the sea is also not recommended, u have to place ur feet carefully in sole sections. They also clean the beach every morning for the kelp. Drinks - every cocktail, every soft drink all the time. We didnt get too much value here as we are not big drinkers but they literally have everything and if its not on the drinks list the very hard working and friendly barmen will make it. The resort - there are a lot of walkways and the rooms or "villas" are not ontop of each other. More than 70% of the resort is natural vegetation!! The resort is huge with 3 or 4 different accomodation areas. We stayed at the grand palladium colonial resort section. If it was not for my husbands savvy GPS brain I would have gotten totally lost. We enjoyed the walk to and from the beach and restaurants, with all the wonderful food we needed it too. For those not keen on the walking there are passenger golf carts running around the clock. We also really loved seeing the animals.... ant eaters, bearded dragons, rabbit like creatures that walked freely between all the vegetation. None of them are dangerous but a strict no feeding the wildlife policy is inforced to keep them wild. A really heart warming feature is also their feral cat program. As with all resorts, cats find their way here, years of continued breading can turn them into "pests" for some (not us, we love cats.) At this resort they actively manage the population by capture, sterilisation and release of the cats. U can tell by their clipped ears which is something most resorts dont consider a priority, and spending money to cull the population rather than manage it is the norm. This resort has really done this the right way. These feral cats are also friendly and look good, it took a lot of self restraint and stern reminders from my husband to not feed any of the cats and other wildlife. Of all the resorts we have stayed at around the world this is one we will consider coming back to! You are guaranteed a phenomenal experience.

The best resort IN MEXICO
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: MD
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 5, 2019
Perfection and then some!

Read ALL the way through! The first day started a little rocky. We paid for the Colonial and were placed in the Kantenah. I asked why we weren't in the Colonial and the desk staff said "oh, it's the same thing." Well, when we walked into our room, it smelled so awful and musty that even the bell hop was appalled. He called the front desk and demanded they move us to another room. They said they wouldn't have another until the next day. The next morning we met some guests that have been frequenting the resort for 10 years and they informed us that the Kantenah is the oldest and cheapest of the resorts and that we should request to be moved to the Colonial (which we paid for) immediately. We did and thankfully they moved us that afternoon. The room looked exactly the same, but there was no odor and everything was a little more fresh and new (paint and floors, etc). From that point on, everything was spectacular! The atmosphere was very luxurious with beautiful grounds, lobbies, sites to see. The pool and beach were beyond anything I could have imagined. The food was wonderful, I especially recommend Posiedon the beach side restaurant. Some tips, get to the reservation desk at about 7:40am to make reservations for the special restaurant's for the following night. Also, pay attention to the activity schedule. They do wonderful workout classes in water and on land. There was a yoga class on the beach with a live saxophone providing the background music! Total top notch! We also enjoyed the entertainment each night plus the special parties. Also, it was nice to have vendors set up in the courtyard in the evenings for souvenir shopping. We will absolutely go back and cannot wait to plan our next trip...we will stay longer next time for sure!

Perfection and then some!
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Nashville, TN
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

Room Information

Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa features 413 comfortable accommodations equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV, daily-refilled minibar, ceiling fan, a terrace or balcony with garden views and room service from 11am-11pm.

Room Details

Deluxe
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Junior Suite
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Romance Villa Suite (Adults-Only)
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

What's to Love

The all-inclusive aah-some of it all - you want it? They deliver.

Over 800 yards of white sand for your beach frolicking, or chillaxing.

You won't need reservations at any of the restaurants.

Zentropia Spa at the nearby Grand Palladium Kantenah - hydrotherapy and couples' massage.

The crazy good breakfast buffet that beach lovers rave about.

 

What We'd Change

The Grand Palladium property is huge so it can be a bit of a trek for the tired traveler, but Grand Palladium Colonial is prepared with a transfer service to take you where you want to be on the property.

 

Why You Should Go

It's in gorgeous Akumal, and 45 minutes away from Cancun airport. You'll be sipping cocktails soon.

You get access to three other Palladiums - mega-sized treat for you - four resorts for one.

There's a bar called "Hemmingway." Bring your notebook and channel your inner author.

The grounds are massive. If you don't want a good walking workout, grab a shuttle.

You can drop your munchkins off at the Kids clubs - you get to go play on your own.

Available Amenities

  • Tour Assistance
  • Beach
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Babysitting/Child Care ($)
  • Children's Activities
  • Children's Pool
  • Cribs Available on Request
  • Currency Exchange
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Fitness/Exercise Room
  • Grocery Store
  • Kayaks
  • Kids Club
  • Laundry Services ($)
  • Lounge Chairs/Umbrellas
  • Snorkeling
  • Swim-Up Bar(s)
  • Internet Access ($)
  • Tennis Court(s)
  • Scuba Diving ($)
  • Shuttle Service
  • Sailing
  • Aerobics
  • 24 Hour Front Desk
  • Wedding Services
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Archery
  • Mini Golf
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Water Polo
  • Game Room
  • Shuffleboard
  • Darts
  • Spa Services ($)
  • Porter/Bellhop
  • Shopping
  • Teen Club
  • Fax Machine ($)
  • 12 Restaurants
  • Ice Machine
  • 15 Bars/Lounges
  • Honeymoon Packages ($)
  • Aqua Aerobics
  • Beach Volleyball
  • Wireless Internet
  • Watersports Center ($)
  • Beach Towels
  • Loungers at Beach and Pool
  • Beauty Salon ($)
  • Handicap Facilities/Wheelchair Accessible
  • Evening Entertainment
  • Handicap Rooms (on request)
  • Freshwater Swimming Pool(s)
  • Dive Shop ($)
  • ATM/Banking ($)
  • Fishing ($)
  • Doctor on call 24 hours
  • Banquet Facilities ($)


Nearby Excursions & Attractions

  • Bars and Nightlife
  • Beach
  • Chichen Itza and Coba Ruins
  • Deep-Sea Fishing
  • Dive Shop(s)
  • Fitness Center
  • Golf Course(s)
  • Grocery Store(s)
  • Kayaking
  • Mayan Ruins
  • Nature Park(s)
  • Scuba Diving
  • Shopping
  • Watersports Rentals
  • Windsurfing

Map of Local Area

Here you will find an abundance of possibilities, something for every person of any age, for every type of vacation, for every budget and every activity.

Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km. 256-100

+52 984 877 2100

Hotel Description

Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Expansive and epic, this palatial garden of Beach Eden has it all: scads of delish nosh spots and bar after bar where you can get your drink on. Zen-centric spa with treatments that range from Vichy massage to vapors baths to stress-ousting massages. Oceans of water sports and Mayan ruins are just a short hop away. If you want more adventure, head over to the other three Grand Palladiums in this Complex de Awesome. The ways to achieve total beachness are endless.

DINING

Here, it's an Epicurean Journey: the cuisine will take you through Italy, then guide you through the Mediterranean, venturing south to Brazil, then finishing with a sizzling, taste bud-slaying steak. And, you won't need reservations at any of the restaurants. Dig in.

La Laguna
Type:
Italian
Hours: Continental Breakfast - Daily, 11am-11:45am; Lunch - Daily, noon-4pm; Snacks - Daily, 4pm-5pm; Afternoon Tea - Daily, 5pm-6pm; Dinner - Daily, 6pm-10pm
Description: Buffet restaurant serving Italian dishes. Located under the palapa.

Kabah
Type: International
Hours: Breakfast - Daily, 7am-11am; Lunch - Daily, 1:30pm-3:30pm; Dinner - Daily, 6pm-10:30pm
Description: Smoke-free buffet restaurant serving Italian and Mexican dishes. Located in the Grand Palladium Riviera section.

La Adelita
Type:
Mexican
Hours: Daily, 5:30pm-10:30pm
Description: A la carte, smoke-free restaurant serving Mexican cuisine. Located in the Grand Palladium Colonial.

El Dorado
Type: Steakhouse
Hours: Daily, 5:30pm-10:30pm
Description: A la carte, smoke-free restaurant serving steaks and other grilled specialties. Located at Grand Palladium Colonial.
Dress code: Elegant casual. Gentlemen are requested to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

Bamboo
Type:
Asian
Hours: Daily, 5:30pm-10:30pm
Description: A la carte, smoke-free restaurant serving Asian cuisine. Located in the Grand Palladium White Sand section. Hours subject to change.
Dress code: Elegant casual. Gentlemen are requested to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

Ribs & More
Type:
Barbecue
Hours: Daily, 5:30pm-10:30pm
Description: A la carte, smoke-free restaurant serving barbecue and other casual favorites. Located in the Grand Palladium White Sand section.
Dress code: Elegant casual. Gentlemen are requested to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

Rodizio
Type:
Brazilian
Hours: Daily, 5:30pm-10:30pm
Description: A la carte, smoke-free restaurant serving Brazilian specialties. Located in the Grand Palladium White Sand section.
Dress code: Elegant casual. Gentlemen are requested to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

Portofino
Type:
Italian
Hours: Daily, 5:30pm-10:30pm
Description: A la carte, smoke-free restaurant serving Italian cuisine. Located in the Grand Palladium White Sand section.
Dress code: Elegant casual. Gentlemen are requested to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

Mare Nostrum
Type:
Mediterranean
Hours: Daily, 5:30pm-10:30pm
Description: A la carte, smoke-free restaurant serving Mediterranean cuisine. Located at Grand Palladium Kantenah.
Dress code:
Elegant casual. Gentlemen are requested to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

El Gran Azul
Type:
International
Hours: Breakfast - Daily, 7am-10:30pm; Dinner - Daily, 6pm-10pm
Description: Poolside buffet restaurant serving Italian and Mexican dishes. Located in the Grand Palladium Kantenah section.

Tikal
Type:
International
Hours: Breakfast - Daily, 7am-10:30pm; Dinner - Daily, 6pm-10pm
Description: Smoke-free buffet restaurant serving Italian and Mexican dishes. Located in the Grand Palladium Kantenah section.

Beach BBQ
Type:
Barbecue
Hours: Friday, 7pm-10pm
Description: Casual barbecue fare served on the beach with live music.

All hours are subject to change.



BARS/NIGHTLIFE

Drinks, glorious drinks can be had every which way here: chillax by the pool or the beach. Hang in the lobby or theater. With three other resorts nearby, the possibilities are exponential. Salud!

Kantenah Bar
Lobby bar. Daily, 10am-midnight.

Churchill Bar
Daily, 6pm-midnight.

Hemingway Bar
Daily, 6pm-midnight.

El Rinconcito Bar
Pool bar. Daily, 10am-6pm.

Colonial Bar
Daily, 10am-1am.

Gran Azul Bar
Daily, 10am-midnight.

La Plaza Bar
Theater bar. Daily, 8:30pm-11pm.

Beach Bar
Snack bar. Open 24 hours.

Riviera Bar
Lobby bar. Daily, 10am-1am.

El Teatro Bar
Theater bar. Daily, 8:30-11pm.

La Laguna Bar
Daily, 10am-midnight.

Punta Emilia Bar
Beach bar. Open 24 hours.

Secret Bar
Daily, 10am-midnight.

La Isla Bar
Daily, 10am-7pm.

Las Rocas Bar
Daily, 10am-6pm.

All hours are subject to change.



BEACHES AND POOLS

How about a dreamtastic white, sandy beach hugged with palm trees? Palapas for shade? Got that. A lake-style pool with a swim-up bar? A coolio salt water pool? Four sweet Jacuzzis for bubbly relaxation? Got that, too. Beach Citizens, this is your escape-haven.

SPORTS/ACTIVITIES

Water
  • Beach volleyball
  • Snorkeling
  • Water Polo
  • Water aerobics
  • Sailing
  • Kayaks
  • Pedal boats

Available for an additional cost:

  • Windsurfing, sailboat and catamaran courses
  • Excursions
  • Deep-sea fishing
  • Scuba diving

Land

  • Fitness center
  • Aerobics
  • Mini golf
  • Ping-pong
  • Archery
  • Rifle practice
  • Darts
  • Billards (fees apply)
  • Tennis
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Shuffleboard
  • Petanque


INTERNET

Complimentary Wi-Fi is included in all guest rooms and the lobby.

SPA SERVICES

A full-service spa, Zentropia Spa, is located at the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa. Daily, 9am-8pm.
Reservations are required. Children under 18 are not allowed in the spa.
*Please note: A charge of $50 USD per person/per day is required for wet areas in the SPA at Grand Palladium.

  • Access to hydrotherapy circuit
  • Relaxation area
  • Massages
  • Unisex hair salon
  • Facials, body treatments and exfoliations
  • Waxing
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Healthy bar: 4 different snacks, almonds and fruits; juice therapy (10 different, 100% natural), teas and Nespresso coffee machine.


CHILD CARE

Supervised activities are available for children. Please contact the resort directly for more information.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Location
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa is located 50 miles south of Cancun International Airport (CUN), 20 minutes from Playa Del Carmen and seven minutes from Akumal.

Check In/Check Out
Check-in: 3pm. Check-out: noon.
A valid credit card may be required upon check in for possible incidentals not included in your hotel reservation.

Spring Break/Youth Policy
Policy for Spring Breakers or Student Groups: Palladium Hotel Group does not accept these type of groups at any time of the year, regardless of their age and whether or not they are escorted. At Palladium Hotel Group we reserve the right to withhold admission should any of these groups make a reservation and come to stay at one of the resorts. Official photo ID and full stay deposit will be required at check-in if it is obvious that the group is made up of students traveling together. Guests will be removed from property in the case of any disturbance or complaint from other guests or hotel staff.

Holy Week
In observance of Holy Week, some resorts in the Dominican Republic, Mexico and Costa Rica may put limits on the use of motorized water sports and loud music.


Resort Update
Palladium Hotels & Resorts has announced plans to upgrade its Riviera Maya Complex throughout 2017, including incorporating the current Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa into The Royal Suites Yucatan. This transformation will be completed in various phases starting on June 1, 2017. Construction will mostly take place within the current Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa and will have minimal impact. All guestrooms within the hotel, the rocky walkway along the water & the salt water pool area will be closed to all guests during the completion of the project. All other areas including the Riviera Lobby, Disco & Theatre, El Jardin Restaurant and the current The Royal Suites Lobby will be closed during certain dates listed below. During times of closure, the areas will not be accessible to guests and should therefore not impact the guest experience.

Below is a complete project timeline:

Disco & Theatre:
June 1-November 1, 2017: Construction will be in progress in the Disco and Theatre of the current Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa. During this time, alternate entertainment venues will be provided to guests. Once construction to the Disco and Theatre are complete, the Disco will convert to become one of four exclusive restaurants available to guests of The Royal Suites Yucatan and the Theatre will become the second exclusive restaurant providing guests with a Dinner and Show themed experience referred to as the Cabaret.

Riviera Lobby and Kabah Buffet:
June 1-September 15, 2017: Construction will be in progress at the current Riviera Lobby which will convert to the new The Royal Suites Lobby. Guests will not be affected by this construction since all guestrooms in Riviera will be closed. All hotel services will be available at the adjoining White Sand, Colonial and Kantenah Lobbies.

Construction will also be in progress at the Kabah Buffet. During this time, breakfast, lunch and dinner will be available at La Laguna as well as the other restaurants within the Riviera Maya Complex.

The renovated Kabah Buffet will feature 2 separate sections (1 buffet exclusively available to guests of The Royal Suites and 1 for guests of Grand Palladium).

El Jardin Restaurant & the current The Royal Suites Lobby:
September 16-December 1, 2017: Construction will be in progress at El Jardin restaurant and the current lobby of The Royal Suites. The current lobby for The Royal Suites will convert into 2 separate a la carte restaurants. By this time, the new lobby for The Royal Suites will be open at its new location and the buffet will be available at Kabah.

Environmental Levy Fee
The Municipalidad of Solidaridad in the Rivera Maya is one of the most beautiful places in the Mexican Caribbean. Tourism has been instrumental in driving the economic and social development of the region. In an effort to continue to preserve, conserve and beautify the destination, the Municipality of Solidaridad has implemented a small environmental levy on visitors effective September 1, 2017. Hotels will collect 20 Mexican pesos per room per day on check out; the proceeds will be deposited in an environmental trust to fund local projects. The Municipalidad of Solidaridad thanks you for your understanding and support of this worthwhile endeavor. Thank you and enjoy your visit.



All hours, fees, amenities, information and services are subject to change without notice.
Close
 

Choose Your Options

Depart:  
Number of Rooms:
 
Room 1 Details:
- or -
Choose a Vacation Package
and Save More!
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 1/2 - 4/12
Starting at $869 was $1349
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 8 days left to book!
$1,500 in Resort Credit More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 9/18 - 12/23
Starting at $729 was $959
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 5 days left to book!

Need Assistance?

Call one of our U.S. based Beach Experts.

(800) 915-2322
7 Days a Week - 5am to 2am EST

All Mexico - Riviera Maya Resorts