Search
Deals
Cruises
Support
Account

Barcelo Maya Colonial & Tropical - All-Inclusive

Mexico - Riviera Maya

Our Rating
4 Nights with Air from $529 All-Inclusive
Info Customer Reviews Questions & Answers
Customer Rating
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.3 out of 5
"ALRIGHT, SO IF YOU’RE LIKE ME AND ACTUALLY READ REVIEWS TO HELP YOU MAKE A DECISION IN REGARDS TO A RESORT, THAN I’LL TRY TO MAKE MINE AS HELPFUL AND BRIEF AS POSSIBLE (SUMMARY AT THE BOTTOM IF YOU DON..." – Awesomness
900 out of 1,020 (88%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from a beach lounge chair fun in the sun A little night music Hotel Grounds Can I go back ?!! great sandy beach Perfection By dolphinarus Pools are large Beach on resort beach Not too shabby. Beautiful pools pool shot! Lunch and Dinner. LIFE! beach Our gang! Drinking Session ! southern comfort Part of the lobby area Pool in front of Tropical early morning Private Beach Celebrating my Birthday! Day on the beach Poolside pool Castle at Tulum Can you say peacefull! Beach looking South from Colonial Great Giant Pools! Walking path 7158 room Beach view Sunrise Butterfly fish Beach at the resort Amazing Beach! Pool This is the view from Palace of the entire Barcelo beachfront The view from the beach Cenotes Lobster dinner Mexico Lindo restaurant Beach Resort looking at the ocean Beautiful beach Swim up bar at one of the pools Octopus for dinner! Web on light...room should be cleaned welll Great view Amazing views broken dresser Great Decor View from our room Nasty Resort Ground The Barcelo Maya beach Pool area at Colonial Fantastic Pool for everyone coconut island love Beautiful Decor Barcy Water Park lobby desk Rust in the shower some of the black mold Kiddie pool Beach Resort Map Kid's Activities Such a great time!!! Paradise! The beach facing the Palace sunrise in paradise No place better!!! Beautiful Beach Me on the beautiful sandy beach Ocean view from walkway snorkeling off Barcelo Beach The beach from the resort. last day sunrise Thank you Olympus Tours/El Cid Marina
All Customer Reviews
1-4 of 875 reviews. Sort by
September 23, 2017
Best trip ever!!

We had an absolute amazing time! The resorts are beautiful! We stayed at the Tropical but right next to it is the Barceló Colonial and the Barceló Palace is on the other side. The food was much better than I expected. Buffets usually aren't my favorite. There are a bunch of restaurants to chose from. We liked the Japanese the best. But theres also a steak house, Italian restaurant, and a few others. I would recommend upgrading to premium. Its totally worth it! We started with the basic bracelets, which gets you 2 dinner tickets (the rest of the nights you have to do the buffet for dinner) and the basic alcohol. We upgraded to premium and we got free WIFI, dinner every night at the restaurants of our choice, premium alcohol and free room service! Definitely worth it! The staff was very friendly & the hotel was well kept and our room was very comfortable We are already planning on going back and this time bringing the kids with us! There is a lot for them a few water parks, bowling, mini golf and of course just beach and swimming... Also very important for men.. They need long pants and closed toe shoes when dinning at the restaurants! My boyfriend had to buy a pair because he only brought shorts and flip flops.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: San Diego CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 17, 2017
Very Relaxing Vacation with Plenty of Activities

The resort is huge. I'm sure there were thousands of vacationers, but it sure didn't feel like it. There was always room at the bars, pools, and lounges. Finding a spot on the beach was a breeze. The staff is very friendly. Many of them don't speak or understand English at all, which is expected I guess. After all, we should know a bit more of the local language if we are visiting another country, right? I'll be brushing up on my Spanish for our next trip to Mexico. There were plenty of people that we could talk to, though. So the language barrier was only a minor issue. The beach and pool areas are awesome! The entire resort was clean and well maintained. There are daily activities that included beach volleyball, water polo, and water aerobics - all great fun. At the beach, there's the Hobie Cat sail boats, wind surfing, paddle boats, and more - all free of charge. For a little extra, there's scuba diving, para-sailing, banana boat rides, and deep sea fishing. We went in September and talked to a group of people that had just come off a 4 hour deep sea fishing trip. We were told that, at one point, all five of them had a fish on the line at the same time! Some negatives: 1. The restaurants at the resort are just ok, if that. The meats were never the best cuts. The seafood, which you'd think would be great, was never fresh. The biggest surprise was that everything on the menu is NOT included in the package. 2. They charge for room service; a lot! Don't do it. 3. You cannot take food from the snack shack to eat at the beach or pool if it requires a plate. They will chase you down and make you give the plate back! 4. Drink runners are practically non-existent at the beach. We heard some people say they saw them, but we never did. It's a good thing a bar is never that far away, but still... The buffets are great! The food options are unbelievable and very tasty. I have to give a shout out to Jacob Hernandez at the dinner buffet in the Tropical. He was our waiter twice (four days apart). He provided absolutely great service the first night. Our drinks were always full, he offered info about the buffet that we weren't aware of, and was so friendly. He especially impressed us on the second visit. He remembered our drink preferences and our "table habits"; my wife likes to keep her cheese plate on the table for her second trip to the buffet. Jacob remembered this and made sure the plate did not get picked up while we were gone. For us, the negatives - while annoying - were outweighed by the positives. The atmosphere, staff, activities, beach, and pool are terrific. We would definitely recommend this resort to friends.

Very Relaxing Vacation with Plenty of Activities Very Relaxing Vacation with Plenty of Activities
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Williamsburg, VA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 14, 2017
Best vacation experiences

Great location. Beautiful resort. Best accommodation. Loved that we were so close to the beach and the swimming pool. Everything was walking distance.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 12, 2017
Relaxing Vacation

This is the second time we have vacationed at this resort. Again - We love it. The rooms are comfy, the beaches are beautiful and the pools are wonderful with 2 bars to pick from. We used the spa this year and with the hydrotherapy for an hour before a one hour couple massage - heaven!! The buffet has a good selection and we also dined at the Santa Fe and Capri this time around. Both wonderful dinners and wonderful service. The only thing lacking is the night entertainment - as in the live show. There are 2 clubs on this property and a 24 hour sports bar. We did not go to the clubs, however the younger generation would like them. The sports bar was great. We had a wonderful, relaxing time. Service - as always - was great!!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Kansas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

Room Information

Barcelo Maya Colonial & Tropical - All-Inclusive features 960 guestrooms located in five, three-story buildings. Rooms come equipped with balconies overlooking the lush gardens, daily stocked mini-fridge, ceiling fans, satellite TV and safe-deposit boxes. Junior Suites afford greater square footage and suites provide enhanced amenities.

Room Details

Superior Room
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Junior Suite Ocean Front Club Premium
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Family Room (Available beginning 12/23/17)
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

What's to Love

A tropical rainforest surrounds the resort with over a mile of a private, white sandy beach.

Resort is mega-sized of fun - you have access to Barcelo Maya Beach and Barcelo Maya Caribe.

The swim-up bars at the pools will likely be your favorite go-to bars during the day.

Lively entertainment at night - theatrical shows and live music keep the party going.

Activities like an 18-hole mini golf, 4-lane bowling alley and video games at Strikers.

 

What We'd Change

The 40-minute trek from the airport is a bit much, but the pools, kid's club and water park for kids up to age 12 more than make up for it.

 

Why You Should Go

Located in Riviera Maya, you're just forty miles from the airport. A fruity cocktail awaits you.

Pack your water shoes - so many bright colored fish and turtles to see in the ocean.

The fitness center is modern and updated with the latest equipment.

The Dolphinarium is just off the beach and includes acrobatics + dolphins.

You can take a public shuttle to Tulum, Akumal or Playa del Carmen - it's cheap & fun exploring.

Available Amenities

  • Tour Assistance
  • Car Rental Available
  • Beach
  • Volleyball
  • Business Center ($)
  • Babysitting/Child Care ($)
  • Children's Activities
  • Children's Pool
  • Concierge Services
  • Conference Facilities ($)
  • Cribs Available on Request
  • Currency Exchange
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Fitness/Exercise Room
  • Jacuzzi
  • Kayaks
  • Kids Club
  • Laundry Services ($)
  • Nightly Entertainment
  • Playground
  • Roll-Away Bed (on request)
  • Room Service ($)
  • Snorkeling
  • Swimming Pool(s)
  • Windsurfing
  • Fishing
  • Sauna
  • Poolside Bar
  • Steam Room
  • Dry Cleaning Services
  • Basketball
  • Horseback Riding ($)
  • 7 Bars/Lounges
  • Darts
  • 8 Restaurants
  • Porter/Bellhop
  • Nightclub
  • Shopping
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Catering
  • Massage ($)
  • Elevators
  • Spa ($)
  • Catamarans
  • Wedding Services ($)
  • Hammocks
  • Honeymoon Packages ($)
  • Aqua Aerobics
  • Beach Volleyball
  • Beach Towels
  • Pool Towels (complimentary)
  • Loungers at Beach and Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Dive Shop ($)
  • Gift Shop ($)
  • Banquet Facilities ($)


Nearby Excursions & Attractions

  • Bars and Nightlife
  • Beach
  • Dining
  • Dive Shop(s)
  • Golf Course(s)
  • Helicopter/Airplane Rides
  • Jet Ski Rentals
  • Mayan Ruins
  • Medical Facilities
  • Motor Boat Rentals
  • Nightlife
  • Parasailing
  • Scuba Diving

Map of Local Area

Here you will find an abundance of possibilities, something for every person of any age, for every type of vacation, for every budget and every activity.

Barcelo Maya Colonial & Tropical - All-Inclusive

Ctra Federal Chetumal, Km 266.3

+52 984 875 1500

Hotel Description

Barcelo Maya Colonial & Tropical - All-Inclusive: Fam-tastic in the Riviera Maya

The resort's impressive landscapes with a rain forest on three sides and over a mile of a private beach out back make this an epic paradise. Just a few sandy steps from the beach are shimmering blue pools where you'll easily find a lounge chair and a cocktail, of course. Head to the water park for slides, splash pads and the coolest thing ever - a surf pool. The family is bound to fall in love you a little bit more when their flip flops hit the deck at this palatial escape.

Guests may enjoy dinner at the specialty restaurants using tickets, based on the length of their stay:

  • 3 nights, 2 tickets
  • 4-6 nights, 2 tickets
  • 7 nights, 4 tickets
  • 8-10 nights, 5 tickets
  • 10 nights, 7 tickets
  • 11-13 nights, 6 tickets
  • 14 nights, 8 tickets


DINING

The buffet is filled with a variety of flavors, where you can nosh comfortably indoors (with a chillin' A/C). For sea breezes, the grill just off the beach is a casual spot for leisurely lunches or early dinners. For those seeking something more formal, you'll want to reserve a table at the Japanese, Italian or steakhouse restaurants. It's stay at one, play at four, so you might as well dig in.

Colonial International Buffet
Type:
Buffet
Hours: Breakfast - daily, 7am-10:30am; Lunch - daily, 12:30pm-3pm; Dinner - daily, 6:30pm-10pm
Description: International buffet with a variety of options throughout the day. *Buffets available at Beach, Caribe & Tropical.
Dress code:
Casual

Snack Bar & Grill

Rancho Grande
Type:
Grill
Hours: Snacks and lunch, daily - 10:30am-6:30pm.

Capitan Morgan
Type:
Grill
Hours: Snacks and lunch, daily - 10:30am-6:30pm.

Miriachi
Type:
Grill
Hours: Snacks and lunch, daily - 10:30am-6:30pm.

Palmeras
Type:
Grill
Hours: Snacks and lunch, daily - 10:30am-6:30pm.

Specialty Restaurants

Mexico Lindo
Type:
Mexican
Hours: Dinner - daily, 6pm-10pm.
Description: Mexican cuisines.
Dress code: Semi-formal dress code. Men should wear long pants and closed-toe shoes. Beach attire is not permitted.

La Fuente
Type:
Spanish
Hours: Dinner - daily, 6pm-10pm.
Description: Spanish cuisines.
Dress code: Semi-formal dress code. Men should wear long pants and closed-toe shoes. Beach attire is not permitted.

Mare Nostrum
Type:
Seafood
Hours: Dinner - daily, 6pm-10pm.
Description: Seafood cuisines.
Dress code: Semi-formal dress code. Men should wear long pants and closed-toe shoes. Beach attire is not permitted.

Kyoto
Type:
Japanese
Hours: Dinner - daily, 6pm-10pm.
Description: Japanese cuisines.
Dress code: Semi-formal dress code. Men should wear long pants and closed-toe shoes. Beach attire is not permitted.

Capri
Type:
Italian
Hours: Dinner - daily, 6pm-10pm.
Description: Italian cuisines.
Dress code: Semi-formal dress code. Men should wear long pants and closed-toe shoes. Beach attire is not permitted.

Sante Fe
Type:
Steak House
Hours: Dinner - daily, 6pm-10pm.
Description: Grilled steak and meats.
Dress code: Semi-formal dress code. Men should wear long pants and closed-toe shoes. Beach attire is not permitted.

Tokoyo
Type:
New Japanese
Hours: Dinner - daily, 6pm-10pm.
Description: Modern Japanese cuisines.
Dress code: Semi-formal dress code. Men should wear long pants and closed-toe shoes. Beach attire is not permitted.

La Trattoria Ristorante Italiano
Type:
Italian
Hours: Dinner - daily, 6pm-10pm.
Description: Modern Italian cuisines.
Dress code: Semi-formal dress code. Men should wear long pants and closed-toe shoes. Beach attire is not permitted.

All hours are subject to change.



BARS/NIGHTLIFE

Find your cocktail of choice - fruity and frozen, ice cold beer or mixed and shaken - at any of the bars around the resort. Pool bars, lobby bar (open 24 hours), cigar bar, theatre bar or hit the disco for some late night jamming.

Beach Bar at Barcelo Maya Beach
Daily, 9am-midnight.

Caribe Lobby Bar at Barcelo Maya Caribe
Daily, 9am-midnight.

Puebla Lobby Bar at Barcelo Maya Colonial
Daily, 9am-midnight.

Tequila Lobby Bar at Barcelo Maya Tropical
Daily, 9am-midnight.

La Cantina Cigar Lounge at Barcelo Maya Tropical
Daily, 5pm-1am.

Two bars in Kukulcan Theatre
Daily, 5pm-1am.

Two bars in Palenque Theatre
Daily, 6:30pm-midnight.

Four Swim-Up Bars at Main Pools
Beach, Caribe, Colonial & Tropical. Daily, 9am-7pm.

El Cielito Pool Bar
Quiet pool. Daily, 9am-7pm.

24-hour Sports Bar
Buffet service - daily, 6am-11am (light breakfast) & 11am-6am (buffet and snacks.)



BEACHES AND POOLS

Six glistening pools with shallow areas for the kiddos, semi-Olympic pools, pools for adults and areas around the pools with hammocks, ping pong, foosball, and more. But, it gets better - the whole fam can splish-splash at the Pirates Island Water Park, where you not only have slides, but also Surfing pool that gives you the real effect of riding the waves. And to top off this sunny paradise - you're on one of the prettiest beaches. Beach lovers - you've got it all here, plus some.

SPORTS/ACTIVITIES

Water

  • Sailing
  • Kayaking
  • Introductory scuba lessons in the resort pool
  • Snorkeling
  • Water polo
  • Windsurfing

Available for an additional charge:

  • Motorized water sports
  • Scuba

Land

  • Fitness center
  • Mini golf
  • Soccer
  • Beach volleyball
  • Tennis
  • Basketball
  • Darts and archery
  • Pool tables
  • Paddle Tennis

Golf
Guests of Barcelo Maya Colonial & Tropical - All-Inclusive have access to 18 and 9-hole golf courses in Puerto Aventuras and Playa del Carmen.



INTERNET

Internet access is available in both rooms and public areas for an additional charge.

SPA SERVICES

Barcelo Maya Colonial & Tropical - All-Inclusive offers a full-service spa for the relaxation and rejuvenation of your mind and body for an additional charge. Services include:
  • Massages
  • Body treatments
  • Flotation therapy
  • Facials
  • Salon


WEDDING/HONEYMOON

Wedding packages are available at Barcelo Maya Colonial & Tropical - All-Inclusive. All packages include the services of a wedding coordinator, as well as options for catering and special amenities for the bride and groom. Please contact the resort directly for more information.

CHILD CARE

The resort offers activities for children aged 4-12 at the Barcy Club, providing a fun activity program and qualified staff to look after them. The Barcy Club is open daily, 8:30am-5pm. Babysitting available for a fee.
  • Games and activities
  • Movies
  • Beach volleyball
  • Dance classes
  • Water park


ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Location
Barcelo Maya Colonial & Tropical - All-Inclusive is located on the Mayan Riviera, 15 miles south of Playa del Carmen, 40 miles south of Cancun International Airport (CUN) and 20 miles north of the Tulum Ruins, near Xcaret and Xel-Ha.

Check In/Check Out
Check-in: 3pm. Check-out: noon. Minimum age for check-in is 21. All guests are required to leave a credit card voucher or cash deposit of $200 for each guest 13 years of age or older.

Tax Payment


The government has approved a new tax for visitors visiting Cancun. The resort reserves the right to collect this new tax to all visitors. This tax will be a flat fee of $20.00 pesos (1.00 usd approx.) per night per room.

Minimum Stay
A 3-night minimum stay is required for travel June 5, 2017 - Dec 22, 2018, with the following exception:
A 7-night minimum stay is required for travel March 25, 2018-April 7, 2018.

Minimum Age
Minimum age for check-in is 21.

All guests are required to leave a credit card voucher or cash deposit of $200 for each guest 13 years of age or older. Guests with the same family name may use one credit card or deposit. Each guest with a different last name in the room must supply their own credit card or cash deposit. Credit cards issued to any person other than the actual guest (i.e. parent, spouse, etc) are not accepted in Mexico.

Holy Week
In observance of Holy Week, some resorts in the Dominican Republic, Mexico and Costa Rica may put limits on the use of motorized water sports and loud music.

Spring Break and Student/Youth Policy
Barcelo Maya Colonial & Tropical will accept student/youth travelers for check-ins Mar 1-April 30, 2013 provided the following conditions/restrictions are met:

  • Minimum age requirement for hotel check-in is 21 years of age.
  • The 21-year-old or older guests in the room are responsible for those 20 years of age and younger in the room.
  • Student/youth travelers are defined by the hotel as any person between 16-24 years of age during these travel dates.
  • Any hotel guests under the age of 21 will require chaperone(s). One chaperone is required per 1-10 students/youths under the age of 21. The minimum age required for a chaperone is 25.
  • Chaperone's name must be provided to the hotel in advance at time of booking.
  • Chaperone is deemed responsible for disruptive actions by student/youths, including but not limited to losing their own entire room deposit.
  • All guests 16-24 years of age and all chaperones will be required to sign a responsibility letter agreeing to leave the hotel if any disruption occurs.
  • Upon check-in, each student/youth will be required to leave a credit card, voucher or cash deposit of $200.

Please note the legal drinking age in Mexico is 18. All guests under the age of 18 will be given a wristband that will prohibit them from being able to drink on property at restaurants, bars and disco. All guests are required to wear wristbands throughout their stay. A lost wristband will incur a large fee to replace (no exceptions). There is to be absolutely no exchanging of wristbands between guests or guests will be asked to leave the hotel immediately.

Environmental Levy Fee
The Municipalidad of Solidaridad in the Rivera Maya is one of the most beautiful places in the Mexican Caribbean. Tourism has been instrumental in driving the economic and social development of the region. In an effort to continue to preserve, conserve and beautify the destination, the Municipality of Solidaridad has implemented a small environmental levy on visitors effective September 1, 2017. Hotels will collect 20 Mexican pesos per room per day on check out; the proceeds will be deposited in an environmental trust to fund local projects. The Municipalidad of Solidaridad thanks you for your understanding and support of this worthwhile endeavor. Thank you and enjoy your visit.



All hours, fees, amenities, information and services are subject to change without notice.
Close
 

Choose Your Options

Depart:  
Number of Rooms:
 
Room 1 Details:
  • Superior Room
- or -
Choose a Vacation Package
and Save More!
Resort Credit Discounts More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 9/26 - 10/31
Starting at $529 was $779
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Hurry! Only 2 days left to book!
Resort Credits Discounts More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 11/1 - 12/16
Starting at $579 was $829
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 4 days left to book!
8 days, 7 nights
Travel Dates 12/23 - 1/3
Starting at $1979 was $2439
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Hurry! Only one day left to book!
Resort Credits More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 1/4 - 3/24
Starting at $779 was $989
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 7 days left to book!
Resort Credits Discounts More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 4/8 - 6/30
Starting at $689 was $909
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 7 days left to book!

Need Assistance?

Call one of our U.S. based Beach Experts.

(800) 915-2322
7 Days a Week - 5am to 3am EST

All Mexico - Riviera Maya Resorts