Search
Deals
Cruises
Get Help
Call Us

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Dominican Republic - Punta Cana

Our Rating

5 Nights with Air from $629 All-Inclusive
Info Customer Reviews Questions & Answers
Customer Rating
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.3
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.8 out of 5
"I read many of the review written here and it was about 50/50, but I'm so glad I decided to book at Gran Bahia Principe anyway. It was me & best friend and as we were checking in, the guy at the desk t..." – Veryhappychica
207 out of 309 (67%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Pool bar lit up at night Inside the room Love the lobby View at the beach Crowded Beach Beautiful rainbow on the beach the view from my room the beach bananas growing outside our room Infected mosquito bites at Grand Bahia Principe
All Customer Reviews
1-4 of 256 reviews. Sort by
June 18, 2019
Horrible, do not waste your money.

We have been going to Punta Cana for 17 years. This was our fifth trip to Grand Bahia. The resort has gone downhill. The resort is beautiful. No other resort compares to it. That is the positive. Now for the negatives.....food is horrible and we are not picky. Main buffet people are mean and rude. Eat at the restaurants. However, making reservations sucks. You have to wait in line forever just to possibly make a reservation. You have to ride in a trolley to get anywhere on the resort unless you want to walk and not just a short walk. Sometimes the trolleys will pick you up, sometimes they won’t. Maid service is horrible. Never got towels or our mini bar stocked. We had to call everyday for towels and our mini bar. The pool towel lady is vicious. She was bitter as well as a lot of employees at the resort. So sad. We don’t ask for a lot and are great tippers. However, we came home with lots of money because the service overall was horrific. No air conditioning anywhere on the resort. The buffet area was like a sauna. The Piscis restaurant by the pool was a joke. Never any clean plates or cups. And if you ask for a cup, they refuse to give you one. Horrible attitudes by everyone there. Always out of food. Diet Pepsi is almost impossible to find at the resort. Mosquitoes are bad, so being bug spray. Beach is nice, but lots of seaweed. They do a great job cleaning the beach. There were a lot of great activities for kids if you are taking your children. Overall, I give the resort a one. I used to think it was the best resort in Punta Cana. We won’t go back to this resort.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Dayton, Ohio
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

June 14, 2019
Great Place

My husband and I loved it. We really enjoyed it all. The lobby bar where Ramon and Hugo bartend was amazing. These 2 men were the best very pleasant funny and informative. The entertainers George, Ryza and Panda are the greatest crew from morning to evening. These 3 work their butts off from stretching and Zumba on the beach to dancing and games all day long. The food at buffets we're good but the food at the places you had to reserve were not the greatest. My room was very nice and was cleaned everyday. Overall it was an amazing trip I will definitely return.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: ATL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 19, 2019
Has potential

To begin, The food was AMAZING!!! absolutely no complaints there. The beach and pool areas were spacious and the pool side foam parties were really fun. The resort grounds are beautiful and maintained daily. This is my fourth time visiting Punta Cana. I decided to try a new resort so I booked at the Grand Bahia. On arrival our party of four had to wait an hour because our original rooms (2 bedrooms with 2 beds each) were apparently booked. The manager attempted to offer us 2 separate rooms, but they were on opposite sides of the resort. We requested rooms in closer. After some hassle we were offered a single and double, with a promise of an additional bed which did not arrive until day two. There were some additional problems with outlets not working (which was never addressed), and a lack of water in the toilet (which took another two days to properly address). Most of the resort employees were friendly and supportive, however there were some instances (particularly during night shifts) where the employees were flat out rude and refused to assist. This became very frustrating as the resort is large and trollies are necessary to get around.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 14, 2019
Great vacation

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this resort in Aquamarine. The resort itself is beautiful. Everything is always so clean and fresh. The staff is absolutely wonderful and friendly. We make knew friends each time. The pools and the beaches are great as well. People get up early and claim chairs that they never use, but that happens everywhere. The beach is handicap accessible and has an abundance of chairs for use. The food is pretty good at the buffets, but the really great food is at the individual restaurants. We made reservations the day after we arrived and went to as many as possible. The only issue I have is the Privilege Club guys can get a little pushy. If you are not interested, tell them no and move on. I would highly recommend this resort.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Newport News, VA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

Room Information

This resort has 396 Superior Junior Suites, located in 2 or 3 floor villas and are equipped with 1 king or 2 double beds with pillow-top mattresses, air conditioning, ceiling fan, fully fitted bathroom with bathtub/ Jacuzzi, hair dryer, direct-dial telephone, satellite TV, mini-bar, safe (with surcharge), alarm clock, iron and ironing board (on request) and balcony or terrace.

The Club Golden is a separate part of the hotel indicated with exclusive signposting. Dedicated to the most discerning guests, these junior suites are characterized by their privileged location near the beach and by their exclusive services. Surrounded by palm trees, these facilities are designed for those seeking maximum comfort and offer numerous special amenities including coffee service, beach and swimming pool towels in room on day of arrival, bathrobe & slipper service in room, room service, evening turndown service, VIP amenities and umbrellas upon request at reception. The Golden Principe Club features a private clubhouse, private reception, welcome cocktail, private check-in and check-out, free daily press in clubhouse and free internet access in clubhouse (15 minutes per room per day). Guests will be provided with an exclusive All-Inclusive ID bracelet of a different color.

Room Details

Junior Suite Superior
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

What's to Love

It's an all-inclusive, all fun-in-the-sun hot spot for all ages.

Elongating on Bavaro Beach, named one of the top beaches on the planet by UNESCO.

Feeling the softness of your luscious skin after the oats and honey treatment at the spa.

Hydro-massage bathtub in the rooms - put in some bubbles and you're golden.

 

What We'd Change

Though wandering through the solariums and tropical gardens on the way to the beach can be fun, it's also quite a walk! Thankfully, the resort has free shuttles.

 

Why You Should Go

It's 25 minutes from the airport. You'll smell the salt of the sea very soon.

Your little urchins can splash around all day (every day) at the children's water park.

You can upgrade to The Club Golden & Golden Principe Club & enjoy rock star status.

You have access to everything (except buffets) at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro and Turquesa.

Available Amenities

  • Banquet Facilities
  • Beach
  • Beach Bar
  • Business Center ($)
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Casino ($)
  • Babysitting/Child Care ($)
  • Children's Activities
  • Children's Pool
  • Conference Facilities ($)
  • Cribs Available on Request
  • Currency Exchange
  • Fitness/Exercise Room
  • Kayaks
  • Kids Club
  • Laundry Services ($)
  • Lounge Chairs/Umbrellas
  • Nightly Entertainment
  • Snorkeling
  • Internet Access ($)
  • Tennis Court(s)
  • Scuba Diving ($)
  • Windsurfing
  • Sailing
  • Aerobics
  • 24 Hour Front Desk
  • 24 Hour All-Inclusive
  • Poolside Bar
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Mini Golf
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Ping Pong
  • Nightclub/Disco
  • Bicycle Rental
  • 6 Restaurants
  • 5 Bars/Lounges
  • Yoga
  • Beach Towels
  • Spa Services ($)
  • Handicap Room Available
  • Honeymoon Packages ($)
  • Aqua Aerobics
  • Wireless Internet Access ($)
  • Loungers at Beach and Pool
  • Evening Entertainment
  • Swim-Up Bar
  • Car Rental Available ($)
  • Dive Shop ($)
  • Gift Shop ($)


Nearby Excursions & Attractions

  • Beach
  • Deep-Sea Fishing
  • Dive Shop(s)
  • Golf Course(s)
  • Horseback Riding
  • Kayaking
  • Sailing
  • Shopping
  • Snorkeling
  • Volleyball Court(s)
  • Watersports Rentals
  • Windsurfing

Map of Local Area

The Dominican Republic continues to grow as a major tourist destination due to its beautiful beaches, rich culture, and abundance of available activities.

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Arena Gorda Macao, Seccion Baigua

+809 552 14 44

Hotel Description

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana: An All-Inclusive Beach Eden

Surrounded by hypnotizing cerulean waters, gentle ivory sands and flourishing flora, this resort on Bavaro Beach is spectacular (read: Heaven-on-Earth). You'll be compelled to grab copious snaps of this delicious tropical treat. With swoon-worthy views all around and ahh-some all-inclusive perks, Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana has something to offer for everyone: beach-goers, land-lovers, food and drink enthusiasts - you name it. Snag a fruity cocktail from the kind bartender and take it easy, you happy beacher, you.

DINING

You've got five tasty nosh spots all loaded with yummy cuisine to choose from, plus live cooking stations. For some entertainment while you chew, hit the Japanese restaurant, where you can enjoy Teppanyaki dinner shows - they're ahh-mazing.

Orquidea
Type:
International
Hours: Breakfast - daily, 5am-10:30pm; Lunch - daily, 12:30pm-3:30pm; Dinner - daily, 6:30pm-10:30pm
Description: Serving traditional dishes with an international flair on a buffet.

El Pescador
Type: Seafood
Hours: Daily, 6pm-10pm
Description: A la carte restaurant.

Garden Grill
Type:
Steakhouse
Hours: Daily, 6pm-10pm
Description: A la carte restaurant.

Santa Fe
Type: Tex-Mex
Hours: Daily, 6pm-10pm
Description: A la carte restaurant.

Mikado
Type: Japanese
Hours: Daily, 6pm-10pm
Description: A la carte restaurant serving traditional Japanese dishes, sushi, teka maki and authentic teppanyaki dinner.

Le Gourmet
Type: French
Hours: Daily 6pm-10pm
Description: A la carte restaurant featuring nouvelle cuisine.

*Access to other hotels excludes the buffet restaurants and guests must use the main buffet restaurant in the hotel that they are staying at.

Hours are subject to change.



BARS/NIGHTLIFE

There's something great about being buzzed under the lights singing your favorite song in front of a crowd of strangers, right? Lucky for you, there's a Karaoke bar. If that's not your scene, there's a disco and two other more chill bars for you to hang and get your drink on.

Lobby Bar
Daily, 10am-11pm.

Swim-up Bar
Daily, 10am-11pm.

Beach Bar
Daily, 10am-11pm.

Karaoke/Piano Bar
Daily, 10am-3am.

Snack Bar
Open 24 hours.

All hours are subject to change.



BEACHES AND POOLS

With two large, sparkling cobalt pools, curling up in a lounger with a frosty beverage has never been so delightful. As for the beach-goers, there are oceans of palm trees swaying in the breeze - cuddle up under one and watch the ways of the waves before you fall into a dreamy afternoon booze snooze.

SPORTS/ACTIVITIES

Water

  • Snorkeling
  • Kayaks
  • Sailing
  • Catamaran
  • Boogie boards
  • Aqua gym

Available at Additional Charge:

  • Fishing boat and tour
  • Banana boat
  • Jet skis
  • Catamaran outings
  • Windsurfing classes
  • Sailing classes
  • Scuba diving class (PADI)

Land

  • Bocce
  • Mini golf
  • Darts
  • Soccer
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball
  • Stretching
  • Gym
  • Aerobics
  • Yoga
  • Tennis
  • Paddle tennis
  • Ping pong
  • Merengue classes

Golf
Just 5 minutes away is Punta Blanca Gold Club with the renowned golf course designed by professional golfer, Nick Price. Additional clubs available in the area.



INTERNET

Free Wi-Fi in the lobby for 1 hour per day per device, additional use with extra charge.

Once checked in, guests may also access Bahia's exclusive smart-phone and tablet app that will allow them to make reservations on specialty restaurants, access a directory of services and social activities, as well as chat with the group they are traveling with.

SPA SERVICES

Unwind in luxury at the Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Spa. With several massage gazebos right on the beach, your worries will drift away. Couples can also enjoy exotic VIP Cabins with private Jacuzzi.
  • Massages
  • Body Treatments
  • Facials
  • Turkish Bath
  • Sauna


WEDDING/HONEYMOON

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana offers several wedding packages to ensure your day is perfect and special. Please contact the resort directly for more information.

HONEYMOON BONUS: Bottle of wine and box of chocolates, bathrobes and slippers in room upon arrival, turn-down service, 20% discount on Couples Spa massage, special room decoration and surprise gift.



CHILD CARE

The resort will entertain the kids, ages 4-12 years, while you rest and relax on beach or poolside.
  • Daily Activities
  • Mini-golf
  • Mini-Olympics on the beach
  • Babysitting available at an additional cost


ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Location
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ): Approximate driving time is 30 minutes and distance is 12 mi.

Check-In/Check-Out
Check-in: 3pm. Check-out: noon.

Holy Week
In observance of Holy Week, some resorts in the Dominican Republic, Mexico, and Costa Rica may put limits on the use of motorized water sports, and loud music.

Spring Break
One person per room must be 18 years or older to check in, and the hotel reserves the right to request a passport or official ID as proof of age. If travel is booked and no one fulfills this requirement, you will be denied check-in at this resort. No groups of students younger than 18 years, or "Spring Breakers," are accepted, year round.

Environmental Levy Fee
The Municipalidad of Solidaridad in the Rivera Maya is one of the most beautiful places in the Mexican Caribbean. Tourism has been instrumental in driving the economic and social development of the region. In an effort to continue to preserve, conserve and beautify the destination, the Municipality of Solidaridad has implemented a small environmental levy on visitors effective September 1, 2017. Hotels will collect 20 Mexican pesos per room per day on check out; the proceeds will be deposited in an environmental trust to fund local projects. The Municipalidad of Solidaridad thanks you for your understanding and support of this worthwhile endeavor. Thank you and enjoy your visit.


Resort Update
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts has informed us that their Punta Cana complex will undergo improvement projects beginning on July 1, 2019 and continue through late 2019. Included in this project is a complete transformation of the Las Olas I and Las Olas II beach restaurants. Work will be done from July 1-December 15, 2019 between the hours of 8am and 8pm. The services (snacks and drinks) will continue as usual but from the Piscis restaurant and other stations placed around the main pool and beach area. The rooms closest to the area in Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, and Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar will be blocked during this time to minimize guest disturbance. Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana will also receive a complete makeover for the lobby bar terrace. This will take place August 20-November 30, 2019. Due to the location of the work, no disturbance to guest rooms is expected and all services will continue as usual at the lobby bar.



All hours, fees, amenities, information and services are subject to change without notice.
Close
 

Choose Your Options

Depart:  
Number of Rooms:
 
Room 1 Details:
- or -
Choose a Vacation Package
and Save More!
6 days, 5 nights
Travel Dates 7/17 - 12/22
Starting at $629 was $1059
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 6 days left to book!

Need Assistance?

Call one of our U.S. based Beach Experts.

(800) 915-2322
7 Days a Week - 5am to 2am EST

All Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Resorts