Search
Deals
Cruises
Support
Account

Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Casino & Spa (Adults-Only)

St. Maarten/St. Martin

Our Rating
5 Nights with Air from $1,089 All-Inclusive
Info Customer Reviews Questions & Answers
Customer Rating
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.8 out of 5
"My wife and I upgraded to the Butler Suite, SHE wasn't happy with me at first. Due to age and health, we may never take another vacation like this one, so I said I would like the whole enchilada baby a..." – JRJRW
137 out of 188 (73%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from the lobby View from room balcony with retention pond Happy Birthday View from lobby Rainbow on beach View from lobby Panorama from the road just above the hotel From our room 3rd floor Lobby our view Beautiful view View from Room 625 View from room Night view Shopping downtown
All Customer Reviews
1-4 of 163 reviews. Sort by
June 17, 2017
Average Beach Resort.

Front Desk service was contentious at times with help being based on their needs and not the vacationer. Buffet options were good but the amount of the higher end food was rationed and not available most of the dining experience, and the planned nights when one of the only other 2 places was closed made dinner buffet dining difficult.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Fort Worth, Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 11, 2017
Great time in St. Martin

My fiancé and I enjoyed our stay at Sonesta. We stayed at a Miramar suite which was ok nothing fancy. There is a mini fridge with soft drinks and water. There is 3 bottle of liquor. The bathroom is nice and clean. Some of the restaurants were closed or were fully booked so we couldn't reserve. What we did was ask to be seated and we were able to. We ate at the buffet majority of the time since Waters Edge restaurant was closed for most of our stay. We ate at Pescatore restaurant once, there was not much food options for us. The buffet was great and the service was great! They had nightly entertainment by the pool which was sweet. The casino is small but we had a good time there! We booked a speed boat trip to Anguilla with the resort tour desk. The trip was amazing!!!! The best decision we made! You need to go to Anguilla it's about 30 minutes away with the speed boat and the captain and team were so much fun. In St Martin, we visited Maho and Mullet Bay Beach (our favorite) and ate at the sister restaurant at Sonesta. The beach by our resort had rough waters and it gets deep pretty fast but it was still fun. Our overall stay at the island was amazing and we had fun! Thank you to the great staff at Sonesta!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 7, 2017
Good People

The Sonesta Great Bay's best asset is it's wonderful people - so friendly, always smiling and free with a hug. I would say all of our needs were completely met by this wonderful staff, especially Melissa and Virginia. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, but the resort could use some updating. The only elevator from the lobby to the guest rooms is the four person type used in Europe. There is a larger elevator from the guest rooms to the pool and the main dining room. The food in the specialty restaurants was better than at the buffet. The buffet food was well prepared but there was not a lot of variety. Overall, we had a very nice trip.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Alabama
Age: Over 65

May 31, 2017
Mold, mold, mold

Pros: Service, food, beach, price Cons: Strong mold smell present in hallways and rooms probably coming from poorly maintenance of individual room A/C units. You can walk only to the center of Phillipsburg where is everything closed if there are no mega ships in the harbor. Most of activities on walking distance are on the other side closer to the airport. Hotel is on the foothills of a huge hill so Sun sets in that part of the bay where is hotel beach around 5PM so you need to leave beach at least an hour earlier.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 55-64

Room Information

The resort offers 257 guest rooms and suites, each newly revamped in an elegant Caribbean style complemented by teakwood furniture and brilliant island prints. All rooms and suites are equipped with satellite television, air conditioning, iPod docking station, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone system, hair dryer, coffee maker and safety deposit box.

Room Details

Serenity Island View Room
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Grande Island View
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Serenity Ocean View Room
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Grande Ocean View
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Mirimar One Bedroom Butler Suite
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

What's to Love

Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort & Casino is located within easy walking distance to duty-free shopping in Phillipsburg.
 

What We'd Change

To properly explore the island you'll need wheels, and taxis can be expensive. Rent a car and be sure not to miss Grand Case.
 

Why You Should Go

The resort has just about everything you'll need - great food, fun, all-inclusive, and even a casino!

Available Amenities

  • Tour Assistance
  • Beach
  • Casino ($)
  • Concierge Services
  • Currency Exchange
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Fitness/Exercise Room
  • Jacuzzi
  • Lounge Chairs/Umbrellas
  • Nightly Entertainment
  • Roll-Away Bed (on request)
  • Snorkeling
  • Swim-Up Bar(s)
  • Swimming Pool(s)
  • Tennis Court(s)
  • Whirlpool/Hot Tub
  • Dry Cleaning Services
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Medical Services ($)
  • Scuba Lessons
  • Non-Smoking Rooms (on request)
  • 4 Restaurants
  • 4 Bars/Lounges
  • Porter/Bellhop
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Wheelchair Accessible
  • Elevators
  • Audio-Visual Equipment ($)
  • Fax Machine ($)
  • Conference Facilities ($)
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Beach Towels
  • Handicap Room Available
  • Wedding Services ($)
  • Honeymoon Packages ($)
  • Watersports Center ($)
  • Free Parking
  • Internet Access


Nearby Excursions & Attractions

  • Bars and Nightlife
  • Beach
  • Dining
  • Dive Shop(s)
  • Golf Course(s)
  • Horseback Riding
  • Jet Ski Rentals
  • Kayaking
  • Marina
  • Motor Boat Rentals
  • Nightlife
  • Parasailing
  • Sailing
  • Scooter/Moped Rental
  • Scuba Diving
  • Shopping
  • Snorkeling
  • Water-Skiing
  • Windsurfing

Map of Local Area

St. Maarten/St. Martin is 2 vacations in 1! With both a French and a Dutch side, visitors can experience two diverse cultures living side by side. Great nightlife, shopping, and beaches make this a popular Caribbean destination.

Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Casino & Spa (Adults-Only)

19 Little Bay Rd, PO Box 910

1-721-542-2446

Hotel Description

Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa (Adults-Only): Get A Taste of Dutch Hospitality

You'll love the adult only all-inclusive Sonesta Great Bay Resort and Casino on the Dutch side of St. Maarten. Tempting Lady Luck is right around the corner at the resort's Golden Casino, where you can discover the thrill of 84 slot machines and other games sure to keep you going into the wee hours of the morning.

Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort and Casino offers complimentary umbrellas for shade and loungers for comfort, so you and your main squeeze can relax as the gentle Caribbean breezes caress your cares away. This resort also boasts a large whirlpool and three swimming pools, including an infinity pool that overlooks the ocean. You'll want to enjoy a cocktail from The Anchor, the swim-up bar that overlooks the beach. For comfort and convenience, the pools are surrounded by umbrellas and loungers.

Dining at the Waterfront Cafe & Pizzeria is the perfect place to grab some lunch since it's located just steps away from the beach. When you want to enjoy a romantic dinner and some fine Caribbean cuisine, you'll love Il Pescatore and its stunning ocean views. Or, if you're looking for something to keep you out even later, The Living Room Bar & Lounge features live entertainment and dancing until midnight.

This hotel is All-Inclusive.
Features include:

  • Room accommodations
  • Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks daily
  • Unlimited international and domestic premium beer & spirits, fruit drinks and soft drinks
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Manager's cocktail party
  • Privileges at the sister property, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort
  • Taxes and gratuities


DINING

This hotel includes unlimited food and drinks, but some dining restrictions may apply. Please check with the front desk for details.

Bay View Restaurant
Type: International
Hours: Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner
Description: Open-air dining overlooking the pool and beach.
Dress code: Beachside casual, shoes or sandals are required.

Waters Edge Restaurant
Type: A la carte
Hours: Open daily
Description: Mediterranean and Italian a la carte menu service truly right on the edge of the water.

Tre Assi Pizzeria
Type: A la carte lunch
Hours: Lunch
Description: Casual dining steps off the beach, serving grilled sandwiches, burgers, salad, fresh fruit and handcrafted pizzas. Perfect retreat for a relaxing meal.

Il Pescatore Seafood Restaurant
Type: A la carte
Hours: Open daily
Description: Refined seafood dining from an a la carte menu offering gorgeous views of the Caribbean.
Dress code: Casual elegant. Gentlemen are requested to wear long pants and a collared shirt.

All hours are subject to change.



BARS/NIGHTLIFE

Anchor Swim-Up Bar
Overlooks the beach and serves cool, refreshing beverages without ever having to leave the water. Daily, 10am-6pm.

Bay View Bar
Located next to the main restaurant, offering a place to relax, enjoy a drink and take life easy in the shade. Daily, 10am-10pm.

The Living Room Bar & Lounge
This is the place for live entertainment and dancing, so enjoy local bands in this relaxing setting. Daily, 4pm-midnight.

Lobby Bar
Great spot for drinks before or after dinner.

Casinos
Tempt Lady Luck at the Golden Casino. Enjoy the thrill of 84 state-of-the-art slot machines. The Golden Casino is conveniently located next to the lobby and is open every afternoon until the early morning hours.



BEACH

Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa sits on a one-mile stretch of white sandy beach, known as Great Bay.

POOLS

The resort has 3 swimming pools, including an infinity pool and a swim-up bar, and 2 whirlpools. Complimentary towels and loungers are available.

SPORTS/ACTIVITIES

Water

  • Water aerobics
  • Snorkeling
Available for an additional charge:
  • Watersports center
  • Scuba diving
  • Jet skiing
  • Boat Charter
  • PADI courses

Land

  • Beach volleyball
  • Tennis
  • Fitness center
  • Board games

Golf
The 18-hole Mullett Bay Golf Course is a 15-minute drive from the resort.



INTERNET

Free Wi-Fi is available in guest rooms and throughout the resort.

SPA SERVICES

The Serenity Spa at Great Bay offers a variety of relaxing treatments for an additional charge.

WEDDING SERVICES

A wedding on the beautiful island of St. Maarten is destined to be special. But when you combine this with the superior services and location of Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, your day is certain to be perfect. Please contact the resort directly for more details.

CHILD CARE

Effective Jan. 1, 2014 Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is an adult-only resort.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Location
Located 25 mins from the airport and 10 mins from the center of the town of Phillipsburg.

Check-In/Check-Out
Check-in: 3pm. check-out: 11am.
A valid credit card may be required upon check-in for possible incidentals not included in your hotel reservation.

Minimum Stay
A 4-night minimum stay is required for travel May 1, 2017-Dec 21, 2017.
A 5-night minimum stay is required for travel Apr 21-22, 2017.
A 3-night minimum stay is required for travel Apr 7, 2017-Dec 21, 2017 For Mirimar one bedroom butler suite room only.
A 5-night minimum stay is required for travel Dec 22, 2017-Jan 1, 2018.



All hours, fees, amenities, information and services are subject to change without notice.
Close
 

Choose Your Options

Depart:  
Number of Rooms:
 
Room 1 Details:
- or -
Choose a Vacation Package
and Save More!
6 days, 5 nights
Travel Dates 6/25 - 12/16
Starting at $1089 was $1689
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 5 days left to book!
6 days, 5 nights
Travel Dates 1/2 - 3/31
Starting at $1379 was $2249
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Only 4 days left to book!

Need Assistance?

Call one of our U.S. based Beach Experts.

(800) 915-2322
7 Days a Week - 5am to 3am EST