SHARE
Email
To
*To Name:
*To Email:
From
*Your Name:
*Your Email:
Subject:
Check out the great travel deal from CheapCaribbean.com
Personal Message:
255
Selection:
Wouldn't you rather be on the beach?
*Required CheapCaribbean.com© respects your privacy and will not use this information for marketing purposes.

Riu Ocho Rios

Jamaica

Our Rating
3 Nights with Air from $509 All-Inclusive
Info Customer Reviews Questions & Answers
Customer Rating 335 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.0
4.2 out of 5
"We went last week and the staff was amazing and very helpful. We will be going back in the near future." – cachi302
357 out of 415 (86%) customers would recommend this product to a friend. Read All Reviews
View of the water and a cruise ship in Ocho Rios from a window at the top of stairway of west wing View from our room Ochos Rios Jamaica - Riu Pool Mystic Mountain, Ocho Rios From Top Floor Jet Skiing The view from our View from my room Beach Hotel Lobby Swimup Pool Bar Bob Marley Tour Ochos Rios Jamaica - Riu Beach early morning at Riu I Love Jamaica... entry circle open air lobby view from the beach Dunn River Falls Entrance View from room Jamicans love life view from the balcony ATV Excursion
All Customer Reviews
1-4 of 335 reviews. Sort by
March 13, 2012
Wonderful Resort - Stayed March 2012

I would like to give a really resourceful and in depth review because I found that reading through the reviews before I went was SO helpful. So here it goes... Airport & Transfers -The airport in Montego Bay is about 1:20 minutes from the hotel. We booked airport transfer through Jamaican Tours (JTL) and just be warned it will take about 2 hours. As much as we enjoyed the commentary and ride through Jamaica - the "pit stop" was unnecessary and we just wanted to get there (it makes a couple stops along the way to drop people off). And they only gave us one time to leave the hotel on the way back home and that was 8:30am even thought our flight was late afternoon. So we were really bummed about that. Resort & Checking In -The resort is absolutely gorgeous. I loved the open floor plan of the lobby and lounge areas. We couldn't have been more pleased with the grounds and cleanliness. The girl at the front desk was absolutely delightful and so enthusiastic. Definitely ask for a room upgrade, they gave it to us - no questions asked. Our Room -We got upgraded to a suite and it was very lovely, overlooking the side of the resort (almost beachfront). We found that our entire floor smelled very musty and moldy though. We thought maybe it was just the floor but it was also in our room. We decided that since it was the whole floor it wouldn't do much good to complain - especially in such a damp, humid environment. The rooms and furniture were very nice though (with dark wood and ceramic tile). The bed was a bit hard but to be expected when traveling. The Food/Entertainment -This was our first all inclusive (even though we are still seasoned travelers) and we were surprised that the food was pretty good. You always hear that all inclusives leave nothing to be desired but it was fine and moderate in comparison to higher end restaurants you'd have to pay for. We did make reservations the first night we got there and only got two (Sir John and Mandalay Asian food). The first was really nice and the food was great but the Asian restaurant was nothing special and just another buffet (but the change of scenery and taste was nice). We also really enjoyed the Beach BBQ they had set up everyday outside for lunch. The entertainment was good. You can tell they recruit some really great dancers and entertainers and then some so-so ones. The people who were really entertaining kept the shows interesting and fun to watch. Since we are a "younger" couple - it was nice to have something to do every night, rather than just sitting around at the bar so I'm glad they had this entertainment. We enjoyed the Beach Bonfire Party and Steel Drum shows the best! Excursions -We did 3 main excursions that we booked while we were there... The Ziplinging/Tubing and shopping through JTL Tours and then the Boat Tour/Snorkeling/Dunns River Fall Tour through the Scuba Hut right on the beach through the resort. For the ziplining/tubing trip - they said it would only be a few hours but be forewarned, between travel to and from and the entire excursion itself - it ended up being six hours long. It was fun but definitely a bit long. It was good for a rainy day though. Be sure to bring some cash for tipping/convenient store and an extra pair of clothes for ziplining. For the shopping tour - do yourself a favor and pay the $10/pp through JTL for transport but DO NOT stay at the Taj Mahal shopping plaza they drop you off at. It was in no way cultural in terms of being authentic Jamaican. Go outside of the "compound". To the left about a 1/4 mile down is the Village shopping area and Margaritaville and to the right about a 1/2 mile down is the market and authentic Jamaican stores. A much better experience all around! They give you plenty of time too! For the Boat Tour with snorkeling and to Dunns River Falls - it was fun and the tour guides definitely do a great job of keeping it lively and fun. The waterfall climb was not quite what we expected (its definitely more of a tourist trap and you have to make a line with the whole group holding hands and they stop you along the way for pictures and videos). I would much rather have had a more adventurous tour of climbing up by ourselves (since we're both active people). The snorkeling was nice but the water was a bit murky that day from storming so nothing too exciting. It was a nice trip for a few hours in the morning though. Would definitely recommend this one versus a lot of the others since it was the most inexpensive though. Conclusion For our first trip to Jamaica at an all inclusive (and after talking to friends who've been to Negril and Montego Bay) - we definitely feel that we made the best choice by staying at the Riu in Ochos Rios. We had a lot of fun and the staff was wonderful. I will say it is a great place for people of all ages too - kids, young couples, singles, large groups and older folks. We made friends with everyone!! Wish we could have stayed longer. I wouldn't recommend going any less than 6 days!! Take Note: If you go on the excursions or off the resort - be sure to bring DOLLAR BILLS for tips. There are so many guides to tip and rather than just handing out a bigger bill to one of them, I felt more comfortable giving some to each person. They DO EXPECT to be tipped however. In the resort, not one employee ever made mention of tips though (which was nice, although we did still tip here and there for hours of hard work).

Hotel Lobby Dunn River Falls Entrance
174 of 177 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 25 Contributor
From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 25, 2013
Great Experience!

I took my Mom to Riu Ocho Rios for her 60th Birthday and had an amazing time. The resort itself was a lot of fun - high energy, everyone congregated in the 'show' area in the evening (to the point where it was difficult to get a seat!), and the performers tried very hard to entertain everyone throughout the day and during the evening performances. The rooms itself were mediocre - they were clean, and well maintained; however, the beds were pretty hard and it was obvious the rooms hadn't been updated in awhile. But, of course being on vacation in Jamaica, you aren't going to spend much time in your room anyway! The food was average... I've stayed in several all-inclusive resorts before and the buffets were on par with other resorts I've stayed at. On the other hand, I would say the specialty restaurants were below average compared to other all-inclusive resorts. There were 3 specialty restaurants included with the standard package: Steakhouse (decent), Asian (pretty good) and gourmet (below average). Interestingly the Steakhouse still had a salad buffet (vs. full table service) and the Asian restaurant was completely self-serve (buffet style). Helpful Tips: 1). Make your reservations for the specialty restaurants the day you arrive for all future days you will be there. They book up quickly and it may take a day or two to get into the popular ones. 2). Book excursions the day you arrive as well (if not in advance of arriving). We did the Cool Runnings Catamaran/Snorkeling/Dunn's Waterfall climb and that was excellent. We also did the River Tubing/Zip Line tour which was fun as well. 3). If you do want seats for the evening show, which starts around 9 PM, I would recommend getting there closer to 8 PM to pick seats. Fortunately, all the bars surround the show area, so you can still get drinks even if you are waiting. Overall, a good experience, but probably not 'upscale' enough for someone who is used to staying at high-end hotels. But it is a fun, family-friendly atmosphere that people will enjoy.


16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 23, 2011
Fantastic Trip

I stayed at the Riu Ocho Rios during the first week of October. I really enjoyed my stay here again this year as I did last year. One thing to note, which I enjoy, is this resort is an 1hr 1/2 to 2 hour bus ride from Montego Bay. My room overlooked the pool with a great view of the ocean. The room was clean and neat and the housekeepers were very friendly. One day I had a large puddle of water on my floor and notice my ceiling was leaking. I informed the housekeeper and she was quick to come in and clean the floor and used a small trashcan to catch more water. She contacted maintenance and someone came later fixed the problem, which was the air conditioner. The room has a mini refrigerator with water, coke, orange pop, club soda, tonic water, and 6 Red Stripe beers. Above the mini refrigerator is a liquor dispenser with rum, vodka, brandy, and gin. There are bars in both pools and 5 other bars on the property (3 are pretty much in the same place by the entertainment stage). The main breakfast and dinner restaurant is beautiful and has a wide variety of food. There is one restaurant generally used for lunch unless it is raining and there is an Italian style restaurant that is open from lunch to around midnight I believe. Then there are 5 other restaurants that are available for dinner by reservation only. 2 are gourmet restaurants, 1 is a steak house, 1 is Asian, and 1 is Japanese (the Japanese and one of the gourmet restaurants are for people in the deluxe wings only). I ate at the Steak House and it was fantastic. Great food and great service. The beach at the resort is very nice and the water along the beach property is absolutely beautiful. The resort has Scuba Caribe on the beach and you can do the non-motorized water sports for free. I did the kayaking and really enjoyed that. The entertainment crew at the resort is very good. They do activities during the day on the beach and in the pool. They are a very nice and friendly group of people. The shows they do at night are super entertaining also. They are very talented dancers and do an amazing job. Overall the property is beautiful, well maintained, and the staff work hard and are friendly too. If you go up to the top floors of each wing and walk the "hallways" around the backsides, you really can see some great views of the ocean, Ocho Rios, and the mountains.

View of the water and a cruise ship in Ocho Rios from a window at the top of stairway of west wing
11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ohio
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 15, 2012
It's hard to mess up, but it can be done. . .

Easy access to the beach and pools. Even though it rained 6 of the 10 days there, the weather was warm and enjoyable (Jan 26-Feb 5). Still plenty of sunshine between showers. Weather cannot be controlled, but amenities could have been better: Experienced issues (inconveniences) with our room - had NO hot water for 3 of the days there, and had ant infestation in the bathroom for 4 days. It took multiple calls, visits and discussions with the staff before the ant issue was finally resolved. Who would have thunk that spraying for the ants required some follow-up to make sure the problem was resolved. Finally got a call to see if problem was resolved, 2 days after the 4th and final spraying. (Each spraying made the room reek with the smell of pesticide.) The attitudes by the customer service representatives with these issues were less than stellar. Also told room would have a king sized bed - got 2 twins pushed together, made separately as opposed to combining them as a king. Had to make an appointment to use the hot tub/jacuzzi (only one at facility - in the spa), then when did was only told then that the hot tub could not be used because there was no hot water in the building - where had I heard that before? The entertainment staff was very accessible and friendly. They appeared to be enjoying themselves and spread their enthusiasm. The food was good overall - some issues at one of the on-site restaurants, but the others and buffets provided good variety and dining. A little disappointed with the selection of fruit but may have been due to seasonality. Overall, pleased with dining options. The overall experience was enjoyable - warm weather, swimming in the ocean, found some pleasant snorkeling areas nearby. The resort's water sport offerings were in poor condition (kayaks take on water making them very hard to paddle and should be replaced), and the "pay for" snorkeling excursion was not convenient and not worth the expense. It was no better than the snorkeling found just outside the swimming area at the resort beach. Felt the resort was overpriced based on the amenities and the service response to the issues listed. With a little effort to correct (or at least act like they understood and cared) the issues, this would have been and could be an excellent experience. Would go back to Jamaica - just not this resort unless pricing matched the overall experience. There were issues, but they did not ruin our fun.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Des Moines, IA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

Room Information

Riu Ocho Rios offers 856 guestrooms to make your stay just what you had in mind. All rooms include a private balcony or terrace, the perfect place to enjoy views of the ocean and relax after a fun day at the beach. Enjoy all the comforts of home on this vacation getaway.

Room Details

Ocean View Room (DBLB)
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Ocean Front Room (DBMB)
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Junior Suite Ocean View (SJMB) - Adults Only
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

What's to Love

Cool free perks like the in-room mini bar and free Wi-Fi in the resort's lobby make Riu Ocho Rio's all-inclusive packages stand out from the rest.

 

What We'd Change

Book early if you want to eat at a restaurant that needs reservations, or face a long wait. (But hey, that's a sure sign of good food!)

 

Why You Should Go

The natural setting is amazing. We loved being so close to the rainforest and waterfalls. Plus, the beach make this resort a tropical paradise.

Available Amenities

  • Beach
  • Volleyball
  • Babysitting/Child Care ($)
  • Children's Activities
  • Conference Facilities ($)
  • Cribs Available on Request
  • Fitness/Exercise Room
  • Jacuzzi
  • Kids Club
  • Lounge Chairs/Umbrellas
  • Nightly Entertainment
  • Playground
  • Snorkeling
  • Swim-Up Bar(s)
  • Internet Access ($)
  • Swimming Pool(s)
  • Tennis Court(s)
  • Scuba Diving ($)
  • Spa ($)
  • 24 Hour Front Desk
  • Sauna
  • 7 Bars/Lounges
  • 8 Restaurants
  • Spa Services ($)
  • Shopping
  • Snack Bar
  • Elevators
  • Beach Towels
  • Handicap Room Available
  • Wedding Services ($)
  • Honeymoon Packages ($)
  • Wireless Internet Access ($)
  • Free Parking
  • Beauty Salon ($)
  • In-Room Safe ($)
  • Car Rental Available ($)
  • Gift Shop ($)


Nearby Excursions & Attractions

  • Bars and Nightlife
  • Dive Shop(s)
  • Golf Course(s)
  • Historical Site(s)
  • Horseback Riding
  • Medical Facilities
  • Scuba Diving
  • Shopping
  • Watersports Rentals

Map of Local Area

Riu Ocho Rios

Mammee Bay, Ocho Rios

+876 972 2200

Hotel Description

Riu Ocho Rios Resort: Tropical Beach Oasis

The lush greenery surrounding Riu Ocho Rios creates a tropical oasis for this beachfront resort. You'll enjoy views of the gorgeous blue seas, white sands and tree covered hills in the distance.

Amidst its tropical locale, Riu Ocho Rios definitely stands out with its purple exterior. But there are other colorful features here. The two large pools have swim-up bars - which means you can have pina coladas all day without ever getting off your float. If you do want to cut loose, Riu Ocho Rios' friendly staff leads playful contests and activities to amp up the fun. If the call of the wild beckons you to explore the ocean, you can prep for adventure with a free introductory scuba lesson in the resort's pool. Regardless of whether you're relaxing or raring to go, you'll enjoy the background sounds of waterfalls in the distance.

While groups and couples kick it up at Riu Ocho's larger pools, families and kids can splash around in the children's pool. The staff also puts on daily entertainment programs for the little ones too. Even better, the resort's private beach has calm and shallow water, so parents with small children have peace of mind.

Jamaica's laid-back vibe resonates throughout the resort's eight restaurants too. At breakfast, have your fill at the St. Ann buffet. Later, enjoy a casual, poolside lunch at the Plantation. Be sure make dinner reservations at Mammee Bay, the beachfront grill.

Even with jerk chicken and tropical drinks, your Jamaican vacation isn't complete without some Reggae. That's why the resort's nightly entertainment usually kicks off with chill beats, steel drums and smooth sounds. Once the band has warmed up the crowd, get ready to laugh during audience participation games. Then the real entertainment starts. With elaborate costumes and peppy numbers, it's as if these themed shows and off-Broadway acts stepped right off a high-end cruise ship. After the show, the fun doesn't stop - it just moves on to Pacha, the all-night disco.

This hotel is All-Inclusive.
Features include:

  • All meals and snacks
  • Unlimited domestic and imported beverages
  • All taxes and gratuities

DINING

St. Ann
Type: Buffet
Hours: Breakfast - daily, 7am-11:30am; Dinner - daily, 6:30pm-10pm
Description: Casual, family friendly restaurant serving buffet breakfasts and dinner.

Pizzeria Piccola Italia
Type: Italian
Hours: Daily, noon-12am
Description: Casual Italian fare.

Mandalay
Type: Asian
Hours: Daily, 6:30pm-10pm
Description: Asian buffet restaurant. Reservations are required.

Mammee Bay
Type: Grill
Hours: Daily, 6:30pm-10pm
Description: Beach restaurant and grill steakhouse. Reservations are required.

Plantation
Type: Casual
Hours: Daily, noon-4pm
Description: Casual poolside restaurant.

Sir John
Type: Gourmet
Hours: Daily, 6:30pm-10pm
Description: Reservations are required.

All hours are subject to change



BARS/NIGHTLIFE

Blue Mountain Bar
Daily, 10am-midnight.

Sports Bar
Open 24 hours a day.

Dunn's River Plaza Bar
Daily, 5:30pm-midnight.

Seagrape
Beach bar. Daily, 10am-6pm.

Reggea
Poolside bar and swim-up bar. Daily, 10am-6pm.

Rastafari
Poolside bar and swim-up bar. Daily, 10am-6pm.

Bob Marley
Daily, 6pm-midnight.



BEACH
Riu Ocho Rios is located on the beach of Mammee Bay. Thick woods and waterfalls surround this beautiful beach. Complimentary sun loungers are available.



POOLS
You'll love lounging at one of the resort's 2 pools. Plus, there's an additional pool for children.



SPORTS/ACTIVITIES

Water

  • Windsurfing
  • Sailing
  • Kayaking
  • Snorkel gear
  • Introductory scuba lessons

Available for an additional charge:

  • Scuba
Land
  • Tennis
  • Multi-sports court
  • Volleyball
  • Aerobics
  • Fitness center
  • Ping-pong
  • Daily activities for adults


INTERNET

Guests can use WiFi in the lobby area for 90 consecutive minutes, daily. Wi-Fi is available in guest rooms for an additional charge. Internet access is also available in the Conference Room.



SPA SERVICES

Spa and beauty salon are available at this resort.



CHILD CARE

Riu Ocho Rios offers entertainment for children ages 4-12.



WEDDING/HONEYMOON
Receive a surprise gift in-room upon arrival (certificate of marriage required).



ADDITIONAL DETAILS

Location
Situated in the north of Jamaica, 6.2 mi to Ocho Rios and 65.2 mi to the Montego Bay Airport.

Check-In/Check-Out
Check-in: 3pm. Check-out: noon.
A valid credit card may be required upon check-in for possible incidentals not included in your resort reservation.

Minimum Stay
A 3-night minimum stay is required for travel Jun 19-22 & 26-29, 2014, Jul 3-6, 10-11, 17-20 & 24-27, 2014, Aug 1-9, 14-17 & 21-24, 2014 and Dec 24, 2014-Dec 23, 2015.

Spring Break Policy
At least one person 21 years old or older is required in every room at this property during March and April. The hotel may require guests to show proof of age and reserves the right to refuse admission to anyone. In-room parties, unruly behavior and spring break groups are not allowed at any Riu resort. Guests can and will be removed from the property at their own expense in the event of any disturbance or complaint from other guests or hotel staff.

Smoking Advisory
Effective July 15, 2013, Jamaica's Health Minister banned smoking in all covered public places on the island.

Adult-Only Added Values
Riu Ocho Rios now offers several new Adults Only Added Values. Values include sparkling wine upon arrival, Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel, concierge service, a bathrobe, and premium drinks throughout your stay. For an additional charge, guests will also have access to special wine menus and a romantic dinner on the beach.



All hours, fees, amenities, information and services are subject to change without notice.
Close
 

Choose Your Options

Depart:  
Number of Rooms:
 
Room 1 Details:
  • $35 Renova Spa Credit
  • 2 Kids 12 & Under Stay and Eat Free
  • Ocean View Room
  • Travel: Now - December 18
  • Book By: December 1
- or -
Choose a Vacation Package
and Save More!
Kids Stay & Eat Free More
4 days, 3 nights
Travel Dates 11/29 - 12/18
Starting at $509 was $839
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person, based on double occupancy. Airfares vary by date and departure city.

Only 4 days left to book!
Ocean Front Room More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 1/3 - 1/31
Starting at $759 was $1279
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person, based on double occupancy. Airfares vary by date and departure city.

Only 4 days left to book!
$35 Spa Credit More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 1/23 - 4/5
Starting at $809 was $1259
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person, based on double occupancy. Airfares vary by date and departure city.

Only 4 days left to book!
$35 Spa Credit More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 4/6 - 6/22
Starting at $639 was $999
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person, based on double occupancy. Airfares vary by date and departure city.

Only 4 days left to book!

Need Assistance?

Call one of our U.S. based Beach Experts.

(800) 915-2322
7 Days a Week - 5am to 3am EST