Riu Ocho Rios

Jamaica

Our Rating
4 Nights with Air from $779 All-Inclusive
Info Customer Reviews Questions & Answers
Customer Rating
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.0
4.2 out of 5
"Very nice hotel , the staff is friendly , food is good , the pool and beach are amazing . Be careful with the tours they are really overpriced." – tatorpr
397 out of 465 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach at the RIU, Ocho Rios early morning at Riu I Love Jamaica... spotless lobby One view from our room Ochos Rios Jamaica - Riu Beach view from the balcony Ochos Rios Jamaica - Riu Pool Mystic Mountain, Ocho Rios Jet Skiing View from my room Amazing Clear Blue Water Pool with swim up bar View from our room From Top Floor Rui Jamicans love life view from the beach View of the water and a cruise ship in Ocho Rios from a window at the top of stairway of west wing Beach View from room Riu Ocho Rios Beach Party Hotel Lobby Bob Marley Tour Pool at the RIU, Ocho Rios open air lobby Swimup Pool Bar Beautiful ATV Excursion entry circle The view from our Dunn River Falls Entrance
All Customer Reviews
1-4 of 383 reviews. Sort by
January 20, 2016

If you are looking for a relaxing time, this resort will do the trick. However, the rooms and service was average. The worst part is the beach space is small and they always over book. We were not able to get beach chairs at all during the trip. We got up at 7:00am and they were still all taken. If you like sitting by the pool area only this resort will work. Also, booked the dining options the night we got there and still could only book for two of the four nights. The only reservations we were able to book was at 9:00pm. The drinks and food was decent, but no premium/ top shelf just the basic's. The room was average and they did clean and give us fresh towels daily. I would also say this resort is more for an older crowd between 55-65. The 2 hour commute from the airport was a little hard as well when you have been flying all day.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 14, 2015
Did not meet our expectations

My boyfriend and I decided on the Riu Ocho Rios after contemplating other resorts and spending over a month doing our research. We wanted something that was within our budget, appealed to us (via pictures) and had good reviews. The best part of the trip was the friendliness of the staff- everyone was extremely polite and friendly, and willing to fulfill your ever request. When we first arrived to our room, we noticed that it had a musty smell to it. The side of the boxspring to the bed had a disgusting yellow stain on it (it looked like someone urinated on the side), which was left exposed, not covered by a sheet or bed skirt. The door knob to the bathroom was broken, and came out of the door upon a simple pull (my boyfriend locked himself in the bathroom the 2nd night because of this). I will commend the front desk on having this addressed within an hour of us bringing it to their attention. There was mold surrounding the grout of the bath tub, there was no light around the tub/shower so you are basically left to shower in the dark. There were 2 elevators in our building, one was out of order our whole stay, the other one marked up w/graffiti and broken buttons. The ice machine was out of order on our floor, which we found out when I sent my boyfriend for ice, and he came back to tell me that it was empty and full of bugs and spider webs-we did bring this to the front desks attention as well, but nothing had been done. If your goal is to get an amazing tan while on vacation, this place may not be the resort for you. There was too much shade! Trees everywhere, and if you are trying to get a tan there are very few spots to lay- and good luck, chairs fill up quick. Even the beach is very shaded, which was extremely disappointing. The cement around the pool was chipping, so if you step on it, you may scratch yourself. The tiles in the pool were coming off and looked extremely unattractive and trashy.The food was decent, the crepes they offered in the afternoon were delicious as well as the jerk hut on the beach. We ate at the Gourmet restaurant on one of the nights, unsure what was gourmet about it. The dining room we were in was small, with a handful of tables, and only two other parties dining in there with us. There was no overhead music, which made this dining experience almost awkward, having to listen to the other tables conversations. If you're trying to get drunk or even a buzz, then bring your own alcohol. No matter how much you drink, you're going to feel full before you feel anything else. All in all, this resort was rated 4 stars, but I am not sure why. The upkeep of this resort was poor and needed a lot of attention.

Did not meet our expectations Did not meet our expectations
30 of 32 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Buffalo, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 2, 2015
Great Vacation

This resort was excellent in dining options and entertainment. The staff was very accommodating when asked questions or any issue you had. The staff at all the bars were great especially, Errol at the swim up bar and Stephen at the lobby bar were excellent employees. The only issue I have with this resort is the rooms need updating and they should be consistent with either king size bed, not two doubles thrown together. In addition there was an issue with large amounts of moths, although the hotel tries to stay on top of it, sometimes it was uncomfortable going to your room at night. The mildew smell was also another issue.


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Queens, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 16, 2015
Great Anniversary Trip

My wife and I traveled to Riu Ocho Rios November 1, 2015 for 5 day 4 night trip celebrating our 15 year anniversary. We booked through Cheap Caribbean. Overall everything went smooth from the flight to hotel stay. We mostly hung out at the pool and beaches. We did a trip to Dunn's River Falls on one day which is about a 10 minute drive from the hotel. For this trip we decided to be adventurous and took a taxi from the hotel to take us there and to market for souvenirs. Cost for cab was $60 and $20 per person for Dunn's River climb. The $60 taxi was for 4 hours time to Dunn's River and to local Ocho Rios market. Hindsight I would've just done Dunn's River and no market. Was very pushy we kept to minimum but could've gotten out of hand if we bought $250 box of Cuban cigars. Buy souvenirs at airport on way home or at hotel. Pool and beach were very nice. They have 2 pools the one we liked best was what they consider the quite side of the hotel. My wife and I were looking for pure relaxation and we found it here. The Jerk Hut on the beach had awesome jerk chicken for lunch every day. Recommend that. For dining there are half dozen restaurants. St. Ann's had largest selection and was all buffet. No reservation needed. For some of the others you'll need to make a reservation. I recommend you make reservation when you first arrive. We waited and had hard time reserving the times we wanted got put on waiting list and ended up making the times due to cancellations. My favorite was the Chinese restaurant which was buffet style but needed reservation. Lots of entertainment but we enjoyed most the steal drums in lobby area. There's free wifi in the lobby. Overall I would highly recommend this trip.

Great Anniversary Trip Great Anniversary Trip
8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Jersey Shore, NJ
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

Room Information

Riu Ocho Rios offers 856 guestrooms to make your stay just what you had in mind. All rooms include a private balcony or terrace, the perfect place to enjoy views of the ocean and relax after a fun day at the beach. Enjoy all the comforts of home on this vacation getaway.
Resort Update
Beginning November 1, 2015 Riu Ocho Rios will no longer be offering adults only rooms. The Adults Only Wing will revert to the Deluxe Wing, while rooms there will retain all their privileged features.

Room Details

Ocean View Room (DBLB)
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Ocean Front Room (DBMB)
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Junior Suite Ocean View (SJMB)
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

What's to Love

Cool free perks like the in-room mini bar and free Wi-Fi in the resort's lobby make Riu Ocho Rio's all-inclusive packages stand out from the rest.

 

What We'd Change

Book early if you want to eat at a restaurant that needs reservations, or face a long wait. (But hey, that's a sure sign of good food!)

 

Why You Should Go

The natural setting is amazing. We loved being so close to the rainforest and waterfalls. Plus, the beach make this resort a tropical paradise.

Available Amenities

  • Beach
  • Volleyball
  • Babysitting/Child Care ($)
  • Children's Activities
  • Conference Facilities ($)
  • Cribs Available on Request
  • Fitness/Exercise Room
  • Jacuzzi
  • Kids Club
  • Lounge Chairs/Umbrellas
  • Nightly Entertainment
  • Playground
  • Snorkeling
  • Swim-Up Bar(s)
  • Internet Access ($)
  • Swimming Pool(s)
  • Tennis Court(s)
  • Scuba Diving ($)
  • Spa ($)
  • 24 Hour Front Desk
  • Sauna
  • 7 Bars/Lounges
  • 8 Restaurants
  • Spa Services ($)
  • Shopping
  • Snack Bar
  • Elevators
  • Beach Towels
  • Handicap Room Available
  • Wedding Services ($)
  • Honeymoon Packages ($)
  • Wireless Internet Access ($)
  • Free Parking
  • Beauty Salon ($)
  • In-Room Safe ($)
  • Car Rental Available ($)
  • Gift Shop ($)


Nearby Excursions & Attractions

  • Bars and Nightlife
  • Dive Shop(s)
  • Golf Course(s)
  • Historical Site(s)
  • Horseback Riding
  • Medical Facilities
  • Scuba Diving
  • Shopping
  • Watersports Rentals

Map of Local Area

Jamaica is the third largest Caribbean island, and can provide both a stimulating and tranquil vacation. It has traditions of reggae, rastafarianism, and Jamaican art mingle with modern all-inclusive resorts, fine cuisine, and cosmopolitan shopping.

Riu Ocho Rios

Mammee Bay, Ocho Rios

+876 972 2200

Hotel Description

Riu Ocho Rios Resort: Tropical Beach Oasis

The lush greenery surrounding Riu Ocho Rios creates a tropical oasis for this beachfront resort. You'll enjoy views of the gorgeous blue seas, white sands and tree covered hills in the distance.

Amidst its tropical locale, Riu Ocho Rios definitely stands out with its purple exterior. But there are other colorful features here. The two large pools have swim-up bars - which means you can have pina coladas all day without ever getting off your float. If you do want to cut loose, Riu Ocho Rios' friendly staff leads playful contests and activities to amp up the fun. If the call of the wild beckons you to explore the ocean, you can prep for adventure with a free introductory scuba lesson in the resort's pool. Regardless of whether you're relaxing or raring to go, you'll enjoy the background sounds of waterfalls in the distance.

While groups and couples kick it up at Riu Ocho's larger pools, families and kids can splash around in the children's pool. The staff also puts on daily entertainment programs for the little ones too. Even better, the resort's private beach has calm and shallow water, so parents with small children have peace of mind.

Jamaica's laid-back vibe resonates throughout the resort's eight restaurants too. At breakfast, have your fill at the St. Ann buffet. Later, enjoy a casual, poolside lunch at the Plantation. Be sure make dinner reservations at Mammee Bay, the beachfront grill.

Even with jerk chicken and tropical drinks, your Jamaican vacation isn't complete without some Reggae. That's why the resort's nightly entertainment usually kicks off with chill beats, steel drums and smooth sounds. Once the band has warmed up the crowd, get ready to laugh during audience participation games. Then the real entertainment starts. With elaborate costumes and peppy numbers, it's as if these themed shows and off-Broadway acts stepped right off a high-end cruise ship. After the show, the fun doesn't stop - it just moves on to Pacha, the all-night disco.

This hotel is All-Inclusive.
Features include:

  • All meals and snacks
  • Unlimited domestic and imported beverages
  • All taxes and gratuities
Resort Update
Beginning November 1, 2015 Riu Ocho Rios will no longer be offering adults only rooms. The Adults Only Wing will revert to the Deluxe Wing, while rooms there will retain all their privileged features.

DINING

St. Ann
Type: Buffet
Hours: Breakfast - daily, 7am-11:30am; Dinner - daily, 6:30pm-10pm
Description: Casual, family friendly restaurant serving buffet breakfasts and dinner.

Pizzeria Piccola Italia
Type: Italian
Hours: Daily, noon-12am
Description: Casual Italian fare.

Mandalay
Type: Asian
Hours: Daily, 6:30pm-10pm
Description: Asian buffet restaurant. Reservations are required.

Mammee Bay
Type: Grill
Hours: Daily, 6:30pm-10pm
Description: Beach restaurant and grill steakhouse. Reservations are required.

Plantation
Type: Casual
Hours: Daily, noon-4pm
Description: Casual poolside restaurant.

Sir John
Type: Gourmet
Hours: Daily, 6:30pm-10pm
Description: Reservations are required.

All hours are subject to change



BARS/NIGHTLIFE

Blue Mountain Bar
Daily, 10am-midnight.

Sports Bar
Open 24 hours a day.

Dunn's River Plaza Bar
Daily, 5:30pm-midnight.

Seagrape
Beach bar. Daily, 10am-6pm.

Reggea
Poolside bar and swim-up bar. Daily, 10am-6pm.

Rastafari
Poolside bar and swim-up bar. Daily, 10am-6pm.

Bob Marley
Daily, 6pm-midnight.



BEACH
Riu Ocho Rios is located on the beach of Mammee Bay. Thick woods and waterfalls surround this beautiful beach. Complimentary sun loungers are available.



POOLS
You'll love lounging at one of the resort's 2 pools. Plus, there's an additional pool for children.



SPORTS/ACTIVITIES

Water

  • Windsurfing
  • Sailing
  • Kayaking
  • Snorkel gear
  • Introductory scuba lessons

Available for an additional charge:

  • Scuba
Land
  • Tennis
  • Multi-sports court
  • Volleyball
  • Aerobics
  • Fitness center
  • Ping-pong
  • Daily activities for adults


INTERNET

Guests can use WiFi in the lobby area for 90 consecutive minutes, daily. Wi-Fi is available in guest rooms for an additional charge. Internet access is also available in the Conference Room.



SPA SERVICES

Spa and beauty salon are available at this resort.



CHILD CARE

Riu Ocho Rios offers entertainment for children ages 4-12.



WEDDING/HONEYMOON
Receive a surprise gift in-room upon arrival (certificate of marriage required).



ADDITIONAL DETAILS

Location
Situated in the north of Jamaica, 6.2 mi to Ocho Rios and 65.2 mi to the Montego Bay Airport.

Check-In/Check-Out
Check-in: 3pm. Check-out: noon.
A valid credit card may be required upon check-in for possible incidentals not included in your resort reservation.

Minimum Stay
A 3-night minimum stay is required.

Spring Break Policy
At least one person 21 years old or older is required in every room at this property during March and April. The hotel may require guests to show proof of age and reserves the right to refuse admission to anyone. In-room parties, unruly behavior and spring break groups are not allowed at any Riu resort. Guests can and will be removed from the property at their own expense in the event of any disturbance or complaint from other guests or hotel staff.

Smoking Advisory
Effective July 15, 2013, Jamaica's Health Minister banned smoking in all covered public places on the island.

Adult-Only Added Values
Riu Ocho Rios now offers several new Adults Only Added Values. Values include sparkling wine upon arrival, Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel, concierge service, a bathrobe, and premium drinks throughout your stay. For an additional charge, guests will also have access to special wine menus and a romantic dinner on the beach.



All hours, fees, amenities, information and services are subject to change without notice.
Close
 

Choose Your Options

Depart:  
Number of Rooms:
 
Room 1 Details:
  • Ocean View Room
  • Travel: April 1 - 30
  • Book by: April 12
- or -
Choose a Vacation Package
and Save More!
$35 Spa Credit More
5 days, 4 nights
Travel Dates 4/4 - 4/30
Starting at $779 was $1209
All-Inclusive

Prices are per person based on double occupancy. Limited availability based on departure city and travel dates.

Hurry! Only 2 days left to book!

Need Assistance?

Call one of our U.S. based Beach Experts.

(800) 915-2322
7 Days a Week - 5am to 3am EST