SHARE
Email
To
*To Name:
*To Email:
From
*Your Name:
*Your Email:
Subject:
Check out the great travel deal from CheapCaribbean.com
Personal Message:
255
Selection:
Wouldn't you rather be on the beach?
*Required CheapCaribbean.com© respects your privacy and will not use this information for marketing purposes.

Barcelo Puerto Plata

Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata

Our Rating
Hotel with Air Best Rate Guaranteed
Info Customer Reviews Questions & Answers
Customer Rating 58 Reviews
Value
 
3.6
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
3.6
Dining Options
 
3.1
Room Comfort
 
3.3
3.4 out of 5
"I truly liked Barcelo Puerto Plata. The location was great as well as rooms. I only used the buffet to enjoy my meals, but that was amazing!" – Sippe
42 out of 73 (58%) customers would recommend this product to a friend. Read All Reviews
Barcelo Puerto Plata March 2010 Bldg 15 overlooking the main pool. Look at that view;-)
All Customer Reviews
1-4 of 58 reviews. Sort by
September 13, 2012
horrible

I went into expecting to have a great time. This was a complete waste of money. The pools were disgusting especially the one with the swim up bar. Food was horrible as well. I even found ants inside my bread. The room smelled like a sewer and had ants everywhere. By everywhere therewere places they shouldnt be for example the toliet the bathtub the nite table all over the floor. Not to mention the roaches were in the room too. When i asked for a room change they told me i couldnt do anything. Outside the resort was alot nicer. This was the 5th vacation ive.taken to dominican republic and this was by far the worst. I highly DO NOT recommend it to anyone pick a different resort!


21 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: new jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

December 2, 2012
Good...needs improvement

I stayed in this resort during Thanksgiving weekend. The resort is nice. There were certain issues I had was with this resort. The rooms were standard, nothing out of this world. I was dissapointed with the bathrooms, they were worn down. The showerhead was an old showerhead that had calcium all over it. The bathtub drainage was very poor, therefore the water would just sit there. I could tell the room steward has not swept the bathroom or the whole room for that matter during my entire stay because I saw pieces of hair, that were not mine because I have little short hairs, in the same locations day after day. The coversheets had stains on them as well as the "comforter". As far as the food...well it was ok I guess. The dining location by the beach is terrible, the food had been sitting there for quite a while with flies everywhere. We couldn't get reservations for the specialty dining restaurants because they wouldn't open them, I'm assuming it was because there was not a lot of guests staying at the resort. The buffet are was nice and clean, the waiters were very friendly and the food was really good. The bartenders were also very nice, always striking friendly conversation with everyone. The beach was dirty and you have a lot of local vendors bothering you, it would've been a lot better if the beach was private and if the resort employees clean up the beach every morning. The pool was nice and clean, spent most of my time there. The entertainment was awesome, always looked forward to it every night. I would not recommend this resort unless they invested in upgrading their rooms and cleaning up the beach. If you don't mind the above issues then this resort is good for you.


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Miami
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 13, 2012
Not what I expected from a 4 star!

This resort was very dissapointing! The food was bad and service was worse!! Our room was dingy and our sheets had stains on them, they did not provide enough towels and when we asked them for more they did not provide them. Thank god we bought some excursions so a couple of days were spent out of the resort! We also did not know that on the weekend they let all the locals in to the hotel so that was even more aggravating because we couldn't even find a seat to sit anywhere not to mention they all had attitude! Overall i would NEVER EVER recommend this place, not even to my worst enemy!!!


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 30, 2010
Best Vacation Ever

My vacation to the Dominican Republic was an amazing trip, thanks to Cheap Caribbean.com, at Barcelo Resorts in Puerto Plata. The hotel was very accomodating, and the staff was wonderful during my stay. I want to reccomend this site to everyone, who is traveling. I loved my experience with the customer service agents, and they were very helpful providing me information. Again, I loved this hotel, and I even booked another trip while I was away to Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace in La Romana. During my stay I made some friends, and I definitely want to return again. The food, drinks, pool, night life, entertainment, were great, can not complain about my all inclusive vacation package.....

Best Vacation Ever
15 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

Room Information

Lodging is in 16 three-story (no elevators) white buildings with red-tile roofs, spacious guestrooms with extra-large balconies or patios facing tropical gardens or the pool. Tile accents above headboards and floral fabrics contribute color and tile floors provide barefoot ease. Big tile bathrooms contain tub/shower combinations. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, telephone and in-room safe.

Room Details

Double Room
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Superior Room Club Premium
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

Suite Club Premium
Hotel/Studio Unit Details

What's to Love

The food at the Barcelo Puerto Plata Resort buffets was above and beyond what we expected! Lots of vegetarian-friendly options, too!

 

What We'd Change

The decor in a few of the rooms could be a little more modern.

 

Why You Should Go

This area is known for its colorful reefs and fish, and with the resort right on the beach, it's easy to get in hours of snorkeling.

Available Amenities

  • Beach
  • Volleyball
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Babysitting/Child Care ($)
  • Children's Activities
  • Children's Pool
  • Cribs Available on Request
  • Currency Exchange
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Dive Shop
  • Gift Shop
  • Kayaks
  • Kids Club
  • Laundry Services ($)
  • Lounge Chairs/Umbrellas
  • Nightly Entertainment
  • Snorkeling
  • Swim-Up Bar(s)
  • Internet Access ($)
  • Swimming Pool(s)
  • Tennis Court(s)
  • Windsurfing
  • Spa ($)
  • Sailing
  • Fishing
  • Aerobics
  • 24 Hour Front Desk
  • Parking
  • Mini Golf
  • Dance Classes
  • Medical Services ($)
  • Water Polo
  • Ping Pong
  • Nightclub/Disco
  • Scuba Lessons
  • 4 Bars/Lounges
  • 8 Restaurants
  • Porter/Bellhop
  • Nightclub
  • ATM/Banking
  • Beach Towels
  • Wedding Services ($)
  • Golf Packages Available ($)
  • Safe Deposit Box ($)
  • Honeymoon Packages ($)
  • Aqua Aerobics
  • Wireless Internet Access ($)
  • Free Parking
  • Tour and Island Information
  • Beauty Salon ($)
  • Lounge Chairs


Nearby Excursions & Attractions

  • Beach
  • Casino(s)
  • Dive Shop(s)
  • Golf Course(s)
  • Grocery Store(s)
  • Jet Ski Rentals
  • Medical Facilities
  • Motor Boat Rentals
  • Nightlife
  • Sailing
  • Scuba Diving
  • Shopping
  • Water-Skiing

Map of Local Area

Barcelo Puerto Plata

Complejo Playa Dorada, PO Box 547

+809 320 5084

Hotel Description

Barcelo Puerto Plata: Make Your Dream Vacation a Reality in This Caribbean Paradise

When you fantasize about your dream Caribbean vacation, chances are sparkling waters and sandy beaches are in the picture. Barcelo Puerto Plata has tropical beauty thanks to its unique island, home to lush valleys and regal mountains. Situated on Playa Dorada and surrounded by an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones, Sr., Barcelo Puerto Plata, an all-inclusive resort, features two swimming pools, eight restaurants and nightly entertainment. Picture yourself dog paddling to the swim-up bar for a refreshing drink, then spending the afternoon under the shade of a thatched roof.

If you're athletic, challenge fellow guests to a game of doubles at one of Barcelo Puerto Plata's two tennis courts. You could join a game of beach volleyball or mini golf. Amp it up a notch with snorkeling, sea kayaking, diving and windsurfing to make your vacation an island adventure. Adrenaline-pumping fun works up an appetite for Brazilian fare at Rodizio or Mexican entrees at Mexico Lindo Restaurant. Don't forget merengue class, where you can perfect your moves to wow the locals at Bar Disco Playa, the nightclub on the beach.

Organized kids' activities throughout the day and a children's swimming pool make the Barcelo Puerto Plata all inclusive packages ideal for families. After a full day making family memories, the hotel's helpful staff can set you up with a sitter for the little ones. For the older kids, there's a mini disco each night in the hotel's theater from 10pm-11pm. Mom and Dad, freed up for the evening, can enjoy a leisurely dinner at La Dolce Vita, then indulge with strawberry daiquiris at La Bodega.

With its idyllic setting, Barcelo Puerto Plata is the perfect destination for couples, as well. Imagine you and your sweetie on a private balcony, watching the sun set as the waves roll in. The romantic atmosphere makes it no surprise that the resort is a popular wedding venue, offering a variety of packages to manage all the details. Of course, Barcelo Puerto Plato's sultry appeal makes it popular with the honeymooners, too.

This hotel is All-Inclusive.
Features:

  • Unlimited meals daily, drinks, juices and alcoholic beverages
  • Wine served at meals
  • Currency exchange
  • Specialty restaurants
  • All taxes and gratuities


DINING

This hotel includes unlimited food and drinks, but some dining restrictions may apply. Please check with the front desk for details.

Buffet Giralda
Type:
Buffet
Hours: Breakfast - daily, 7am-11am; Lunch - daily, 12:30pm-3pm; Dinner - daily, 6:30pm-10pm
Description: Buffet restaurant serving a mix of international foods in a casual setting.
Dress code: Casual.

El Lago
Type:
Snacks
Hours: Daily, 11am-5pm
Description: Snack restaurant. Casual, but a sit-down venue.

Kyoto Restaurant
Type:
Asian
Hours: Daily, 6pm-11:30pm, nine seatings every 15 minutes beginning at 6pm
Description: A la carte Asian dinner restaurant.
Dress code: Shirts and shoes for men, no flip-flops or swimsuits. Reservations are required.

Mexico Lindo Restaurant
Type:
Mexican
Hours: Daily, 6pm-11:30pm
Description: A la carte dinner Mexican restaurant. Reservations are required.
Dress code: Formal attire.

La Dolce Vita Restaurant
Type:
Italian
Hours: Daily, 6pm-11:30pm, 9 seatings every 15 minutes beginning at 6pm
Description: A la carte Italian restaurant. Reservations are required.
Dress code: Shirts and shoes for men, no flip-flops or swimsuits.

La Fontana
Type:
Pizzeria
Hours: Daily, 6:30pm-10pm
Description: A la carte pizzeria. Reservations are required.
Dress code: Shirts and shoes for men, no flip-flops or swimsuits.

Marenostrum Restaurant
Type: Seafood
Hours: Daily, 6pm-11:30pm, nine seatings every 15 min beginning at 6pm
Description: A la carte seafood dinner restaurant. Reservations required for dinner.
Dress code: Shirts and shoes for men, no flip-flops or swimsuits. Reservations are required.

Rodizio
Type:
Brazilian
Hours: Daily, 6pm-11:30pm, 9 seatings every 15 minutes beginning at 6pm
Description: Brazilian a la carte restaurant. Reservations are required.
Dress code: Shirts and shoes for men, no flip-flops or swimsuits.

All hours are subject to change.



BARS/NIGHTLIFE

El Hundido
Swim-up bar located at main swimming pool. Daily, 10am-6pm.

La Bodeguita
Located near the theater. Daily, 5pm-11pm.

La Bodega
Located in the lobby. Daily, 10pm-12am.

Las Marismas Disco
Located on the beach. Daily, 11pm-2am.



BEACH

Located on beautiful Playa Dorada with beautiful sugary sand and crystal clear waters.

POOLS

Catch some rays at the resort's pool, featuring a swim-up bar to quench your thirst. With a children's pool close by, the kids can splash and play and you can sit back and relax!

SPORTS/ACTIVITIES

Water

  • Introductory swimming classes
  • Kayaks
  • Sailing Dinghies
  • Windsurfing clinic
  • Snorkeling
  • Diving information
  • Hobiwave

Land

  • Mini golf
  • Beach volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Aerobics
  • Basketball
  • Tennis
  • Billiards ($)

Golf
Playa Dorada Golf Course, designed by Robert Trent Jones, Sr., offers 18 holes of challenging, 72-par golf in the lush Caribbean tropical surrounding the Dominican Republic. Playa Dorada also boasts two relaxing restaurants in their clubhouse. Indoor and outdoor seating available. Golf packages available through Barcelo Resort.



INTERNET

Internet is available at the resort for an additional charge.

SPA SERVICES

This resort does not offer spa services.

WEDDING/HONEYMOON

Four separate wedding packages, plus extra services, including photography, spa and beauty treatments, and floral services. All wedding packages include:
  • Wedding coordinator services
  • Translator, if necessary
  • Upgrade to suite room (subject to availability), for bride and groom
  • Seaside wedding location
  • Justice of peace or minister
  • Marriage certificate
  • Late check-out until 3pm (on request, subject to availability), for bride and groom
  • Witnesses if required


CHILD CARE

  • Organized activities during the day
  • Children's swimming pool available
  • Mini disco every night from 10pm-11pm in the theater
  • Babysitters can be arranged


ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Location
Formerly Occidental Grand Puerto Plata, the Barcelo Puerto Plata is located on the Atlantic Beach, 15 minutes from Puerto Plata Airport (POP-La Union) and only 10 minutes from town. Driving directions from Puerto Plata Airport: Outside airport, turn right and continue on Northcoast Highway to Playa Dorada sign. Turn right into resort.

Check-In/Check-Out
Check-in: 3pm. Check-out: 1pm.
A valid credit card may be required upon check-in for possible incidentals not included in your hotel reservation.

Minimum Stay
A 2-night minimum stay is required for travel Nov 8 - Nov 9, 2014
A 7-night minimum stay is required for travel Dec 21, 2014-Jan 6, 2015 & Mar 28-Apr 4, 2015.

Holy Week
In observance of Holy Week, some resorts in the Dominican Republic, Mexico, and Costa Rica may put limits on the use of motorized water sports, and loud music.



All hours, fees, amenities, information and services are subject to change without notice.
Close
 

Choose Your Options

Depart:  
Number of Rooms:
 
Room 1 Details:
  • Double Room
  • Travel: January 7 - April 4

Need Assistance?

Call one of our U.S. based Beach Experts.

(800) 915-2322
7 Days a Week - 5am to 3am EST